Lose It vs Weight Watchers
Lose It! Basic costs $0 and includes a personalized daily calorie budget. Lose It! Premium is listed at $79.99 a year. checked October 14, 2026. New users who have not tried Premium can get a 7-day free trial. checked October 14, 2026.
WeightWatchers does not state a free version on its pages. The app costs nothing to download, while its tools come with a membership. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. Core costs $24 for 1 month. checked October 14, 2026. The plans page lists Core from $12 a month with a 12-month commitment. Its offer ending October 15, 2026 lists $10 a month for the first 12 months of a 12-month Core plan. checked October 14, 2026.
This page covers Core and Core+ and leaves out every WeightWatchers medication or clinic plan.
How access and tracking compare
WeightWatchers writes its name as one word on its home page and App Store listing and as two words in some page titles and its offer terms. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
| Daily tool or plan | Lose It | WeightWatchers |
|---|---|---|
| Free version | Lose It! Basic is $0 with a daily calorie budget personalized to the user. checked October 14, 2026. The free-feature article includes calorie logging, weight tracking, barcode scanning and access to the food database. checked October 14, 2026. | Not stated. The App Store offers a free download with in-app purchases. checked October 14, 2026. The tools on the ZeroPoint foods page come with membership. checked October 14, 2026. A membership help article lists Core and Membership plus Workshops, with no free option. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Free trial | New users who have never tried Premium are eligible for a 7-day free trial. checked October 14, 2026. The refund article says trial enrollment authorizes a full subscription when the trial expires unless canceled first. checked October 14, 2026. | A trial on the main plan pages is Not stated. checked October 14, 2026. A separate Core trial page offers 30 free days, then $24 a month unless canceled before the trial ends. Its offer is for new members only and cannot be combined with other offers. checked October 14, 2026. A second page offers a 30-day Workshops trial, then $44 a month unless canceled before it ends. That page uses the older Premium name. checked October 14, 2026. |
| What is counted | Food calories are counted against a daily calorie budget. The budget is personalized. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. | Food Points are counted against a personal daily Points Budget. checked October 14, 2026. The Points blog says Points and calories are not the same. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Logging by search | Keyword search is one of the food logging methods in the help center. checked October 14, 2026. Database access is included in the free version. checked October 14, 2026. | The App Store describes searching recipes and restaurants to log meals. checked October 14, 2026. The Food Scanner blog says text search can add foods the scanner misses. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Logging by barcode | The About article places barcode scanning in the free version. checked October 14, 2026. The membership tiers article places it under Premium. checked October 14, 2026. An older scanner article describes a move to Premium, with some free members retaining access during the change and Premium required once it is locked. checked October 14, 2026. The App Store also puts the barcode scanner in Premium. checked October 14, 2026. | The Points program and Core+ pages list barcode meal logging. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. The scanner blog says verified foods show Points and nutrition. For foods absent from that database, scanning uses member-added entries, which the company says can be inaccurate. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Logging by photo | Snap It requires Premium and an English device language, according to its help article. checked October 14, 2026. | Food Scanner uses AI to identify foods and estimate portions and Points. Its help article says items can be edited before tracking and photos can come from the gallery. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Logging by voice | The food logging article names Say It as the voice method. checked October 14, 2026. The tiers article puts voice logging in Premium. checked October 14, 2026. The App Store puts voice logging in Premium too. checked October 14, 2026. | A dedicated voice logging feature is Not stated. The accessibility page describes phone keyboard dictation in search menus, including food tracking. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Zero-Point or free foods | Not stated. | WeightWatchers describes more than 350 ZeroPoint foods that members do not need to weigh, track or measure. checked October 14, 2026. Its help article says most members have more than 350. checked October 14, 2026. Examples in its Points blog include beans, lentils, fish, oats and tofu. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Coaching or workshops | Coaching and workshops are Not stated. Courses are text-based lessons bought individually for a one-time payment, separate from memberships. checked October 14, 2026. | The Core card includes two free weeks of Coaching and Workshops. checked October 14, 2026. Core+ lists unlimited coaching, Workshops and peer support. checked October 14, 2026. Workshops are coach-led groups in a Studio or online, and members can attend both formats. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Macro goals | Custom nutrient goals require Premium. The help article lists carbohydrates, cholesterol, fat, fiber, protein, saturated fat, sodium and sugar. checked October 14, 2026. The About article also places advanced calorie budgets and macro goals under Premium. checked October 14, 2026. | Logged foods supply protein, carbs and fat totals, plus fiber and sodium. Viewing those totals is optional. checked October 14, 2026. The How It Works page says the program creates key macro targets. A help article instead asks why each macro has no target or range and refers members seeking tailored targets to a professional such as a dietitian. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Apple Watch | The App Store lists iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch, requiring watchOS 9.0 or later for the watch. checked October 14, 2026. The watch help article calls Apple Watch integration a free feature on iOS. checked October 14, 2026. The tiers article lists automatic smartwatch syncing under Premium. checked October 14, 2026. What the app does on the watch is Not stated. | The App Store lists iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch, with watchOS 9.0 or later required. checked October 14, 2026. The Apple Health FAQ says watch steps reach the app through Apple Health. That FAQ uses the older PersonalPoints program name. checked October 14, 2026. What the app does on the watch is Not stated. |
| Paid plan names | Lose It! Premium and Lose It! Lifetime. checked October 14, 2026. | Core and Core+ appear in the plans offer. checked October 14, 2026. The Core card includes two weeks of Coaching and Workshops. checked October 14, 2026. Core+ includes unlimited coaching, Workshops and peer support. checked October 14, 2026. The Workshops page also names Workshop memberships, formerly Premium. checked October 14, 2026. |
| Paid prices | Premium lists $79.99 a year. Lifetime lists a single $299.99 payment for free or Basic accounts, or $229.99 for active Premium members. A monthly Premium price is Not stated. checked October 14, 2026. | The plans comparison gives 12-month starting prices of $12 a month for Core and $22 for Core+. checked October 14, 2026. Plan cards list Core at $24 for 1 month and $18 a month on a 3-month plan, with a 12-month renewal price of $12 a month. Core+ lists $44 for 1 month and $33 a month on a 3-month plan, with a 12-month renewal price of $22 a month. checked October 14, 2026. The offer ending October 15, 2026 lists Core at $10 and Core+ at $20 a month for the first 12 months of a 12-month plan. The Core+ offer applies in participating areas only. checked October 14, 2026. Workshop memberships start at about $45 a month. checked October 14, 2026. |
A day recorded in Lose It
Lose It says its calorie budget uses age, height, weight, gender and a weekly weight loss goal. The About article describes total daily energy expenditure as the basis for that budget. checked October 14, 2026.
The home page describes recording food against the daily calorie allowance. checked October 14, 2026. How It Works lists food, weight and activity tracking. Exercise can be entered in the app or synced from Apple Health and Google Fit. checked October 14, 2026.
The Calorie Bonus article says the log receives a bonus when calories burned exceed the daily estimate called Target Burn. checked October 14, 2026. The water tracker requires Premium. checked October 14, 2026.
The help center describes an I'm Done Logging button. The projection displayed after it is tapped uses logging history from the current streak. checked October 14, 2026. Another help article says the daily budget, logged foods, exercise and active streaks reset at midnight in the device time zone. checked October 14, 2026.
The budget help article says recorded weight decreases gradually reduce the calorie budget. It also says reaching goal weight automatically moves the account to a maintenance plan. checked October 14, 2026.
The Lose It review covers the app on its own. Separate comparisons put MyFitnessPal beside Lose It, Cronometer beside Lose It and MacroFactor beside Lose It.
A day recorded in WeightWatchers
The Points program gives each member a daily Points Budget tailored to their body and goals. Its explanation says sugar and saturated fat increase a food's Points, while protein and fiber decrease them. checked October 14, 2026.
The Points blog says the budget uses metabolic rate calculated from age, height, weight and sex assigned at birth, along with a goal to lose or maintain weight. The program page says the budget changes as the body changes. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
Weekly Points become available after daily Points run out, in every Mode except All-In. Logged workouts add Weekly Points. Up to four unused daily Points can roll into the weekly bank, a setting that starts on and can be turned off. checked October 14, 2026.
The App Store names Lose, Maintain, All-In and Vacation Mode, with Vacation Mode described as a break from tracking. checked October 14, 2026. The ZeroPoint page lists daily food, activity, macro and weight trackers. checked October 14, 2026. The Points program page adds sleep tracking and activity integration with devices and apps. checked October 14, 2026.
WeightWatchers says its ZeroPoint foods do not need weighing, tracking or measuring. checked October 14, 2026. Its website tracking help article says food tracking moved to the app, with website tracking removed starting April 30, 2024. checked October 14, 2026.
For a separate account of the app, read the WeightWatchers review. The MyFitnessPal and WeightWatchers comparison puts another tracker beside it.
Coach sessions, courses and member groups
The Core card offers two free weeks of Coaching and Workshops. checked October 14, 2026. The plans comparison repeats that two-week access. checked October 14, 2026. Core+ lists unlimited coaching, Workshops and peer support. checked October 14, 2026.
WeightWatchers describes Workshops as coach-led group meetings online or in a Studio, with both available to members. In-person visits include a private weigh-in and a 30-minute group session. Its Workshop memberships, formerly Premium, start at about $45 a month. checked October 14, 2026.
WeightWatchers says members can chat with Coaches in the app. The coach chat help article gives hours of 9 am to 5 pm Eastern. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
Lose It pages do not state coaching or workshops. Its Courses article describes text-only lessons made by the in-house team and third-party experts. Individual Courses require a separate one-time purchase and are not part of existing memberships. checked October 14, 2026.
Lose It describes adding friends and joining groups in the community tab. checked October 14, 2026. Its blog also describes sharing food logs and sending other members direct messages. checked October 14, 2026. Nutrition Strategies are dietitian-curated guides available only in the app with Premium. checked October 14, 2026.
For Lose It beside a paid program built around lessons, see Lose It and Noom compared. The Noom and WeightWatchers comparison places WeightWatchers beside Noom.
Where the listed prices appear
On loseit.com, the Lifetime page asks for a login to view pricing. checked October 14, 2026. The Premium purchase page also presents a login form, so these pages show no price without a login. checked October 14, 2026. The help center publishes the $79.99 yearly Premium price. checked October 14, 2026.
Lose It says seasonal promotions and how often someone uses the app affect its prices. It also says most users receive discounted offers while using the app. checked October 14, 2026.
WeightWatchers shows prices before sign-up. Its plans page lists Core from $12 a month and Core+ from $22 a month with a 12-month commitment. The offer ending October 15, 2026 instead lists $10 for Core and $20 for Core+ each month for the first 12 months. The Core+ offer is limited to participating areas. checked October 14, 2026.
The Core+ page shows the 12-month offer cards and their renewal rates of $12 a month for Core and $22 for Core+. checked October 14, 2026. A separate Core card page shows $12 a month with a 12-month plan and $12 due today, alongside $18 a month for 3 months and $24 for 1 month. checked October 14, 2026. The Points program page shows Core starting at $10 a month with a 12-month commitment, the same $10 the plans page lists for its offer ending October 15, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
What a year adds up to at each listed rate
These are listed US dollar prices checked October 14, 2026. Each yearly calculation assumes every charge during that year stays at the listed rate.
- Lose It! Basic lists $0, giving a yearly cost of $0. checked October 14, 2026.
- Lose It! Premium lists $79.99 for a year and renews annually. One year is $79.99. checked October 14, 2026.
- Lose It! Lifetime is a single payment of $299.99 for free or Basic accounts, or $229.99 for active Premium members. It has no renewal fees. checked October 14, 2026.
- A monthly Lose It! Premium price is Not stated, so a yearly total for monthly Premium is Not stated.
- A WeightWatchers free version is Not stated, so a yearly price for that version is Not stated. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
- Core with the 12-month offer ending October 15, 2026 costs $10 a month for the first 12 months. 12 x $10 = $120. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
- Core at the 12-month card renewal rate and the plans page starting price is $12 a month. 12 x $12 = $144. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
- Core on the 3-month plan costs $18 a month and the card says it renews for 3 months at $18. 3 x $18 = $54 for each 3 months. 12 x $18 = $216 for a year. checked October 14, 2026.
- Core for 1 month costs $24 and renews monthly. 12 x $24 = $288. checked October 14, 2026.
- Core+ with the 12-month offer ending October 15, 2026 costs $20 a month for the first 12 months, in participating areas only. 12 x $20 = $240. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
- Core+ at the 12-month card renewal rate and the plans page starting price is $22 a month. 12 x $22 = $264. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
- Core+ on the 3-month plan costs $33 a month and the card says it renews for 3 months at $33. 3 x $33 = $99 for each 3 months. 12 x $33 = $396 for a year. checked October 14, 2026.
- Core+ for 1 month costs $44 and renews monthly. 12 x $44 = $528. checked October 14, 2026.
- The separate trial pages list $0 for 30 days, followed by $24 a month for Core or $44 a month for Workshops unless canceled before the trial ends. No yearly total is shown here for either trial. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
For Core, $288 is $144 more than $144. For Core+, $528 is $264 more than $264. Comparing the Core 12-month starting rate with yearly Lose It! Premium, $144 is $64.01 more than $79.99.
WeightWatchers plan cards say each plan renews for the same term at its stated price unless canceled. checked October 14, 2026. Section 2C of its membership terms says commitment plans renew at standard rates for the standard period, usually monthly. The terms also allow fee changes with at least 30 days of written notice. checked October 14, 2026.
Lose It's Terms say renewal costs no more than the prior period unless it gives notice of a change first, with promotional and discount pricing excluded from that comparison. checked October 14, 2026. Its help center says pricing changes with seasonal promotions and how often a person uses the app. checked October 14, 2026.
The Lose It! Premium cost guide and WeightWatchers cost guide each focus on one company's payment terms.
The dates of the 2025 Chapter 11 case
On May 6, 2025, WeightWatchers announced it had voluntarily started pre-packaged Chapter 11 cases in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware. checked October 14, 2026.
Its June 17, 2025 announcement reported approval of the Plan of Reorganization. checked October 14, 2026. The company dates its emergence from Chapter 11 to June 24, 2025. checked October 14, 2026.
On July 8, 2025, WeightWatchers announced completion of the reorganization. checked October 14, 2026.
TrueCal is another calorie tracking option
TrueCal is available on iPhone, Android and the web as a calorie and macro tracker. Manual calorie logging is on the free plan. checked October 14, 2026. Pro includes logs from a typed description, voice, photos and barcodes, along with macros. checked October 14, 2026. checked October 14, 2026.
Eligible customers can try Pro free for 7 days in the iPhone or Android app. The App Store or Google Play runs the trial, and you can cancel anytime up to 24 hours before it ends. checked October 14, 2026.
The app comparison collection includes other pairings, and TrueCal beside Lose It covers those two apps. The WeightWatchers alternatives guide covers that separate comparison topic.
Questions about access and cost
Is there a free WeightWatchers app plan?
WeightWatchers pages do not state a free version. Downloading the app is free, and its tools come with a membership.
Does Lose It count food in Points?
The Lose It pages describe calories against a daily calorie budget. A Points system or a free-food category is Not stated.
How much is Core for a year at its 1 month rate?
With twelve charges at the listed $24 monthly price, 12 x $24 = $288. This assumes the price stays unchanged.
Can Lose It prices be read without signing in?
The help center lists membership prices publicly. The Lifetime page on loseit.com asks for a login to view pricing, and the Premium purchase page presents a login form.
Pages behind the facts
- Lose It membership tiers and pricing, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It Premium help, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers App Store listing, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers ZeroPoint foods, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Core+ and plan cards, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers plans, checked October 14, 2026
- About Lose It, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers membership types, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It refunds, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Core trial, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Workshops trial, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It home page, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Points program, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Points explanation, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It food logging help, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Food Scanner article, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It barcode access changes, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It App Store listing, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers barcode scanner article, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It Snap It help, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Food Scanner help, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers app accessibility, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers ZeroPoint food list help, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It Courses help, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Core plan card, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Workshops, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It nutrient goals, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers macro tracking article, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers How It Works, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers macro targets help, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It Apple Watch help, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Apple Health FAQ, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers home page, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It How It Works, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It Calorie Bonus help, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It water tracking help, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It goal and streak projections, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It daily reset help, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It budget changes, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers website tracking help, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers coach chat help, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It member sharing article, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It Nutrition Strategies help, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It Lifetime purchase page, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It Premium purchase page, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers membership terms, checked October 14, 2026
- Lose It Terms of Service, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers announcement on May 6, 2025, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers announcement on June 17, 2025, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers Chapter 11 dates, checked October 14, 2026
- WeightWatchers announcement on July 8, 2025, checked October 14, 2026
- TrueCal product facts, checked October 14, 2026
- TrueCal plans, checked October 14, 2026