MacroFactor vs Lose It
MacroFactor builds its Coached calorie and macro target around weekly adjustments from logged food and trend weight. It has no free version, with a 7-day free trial followed by a subscription, with month to month billing at $11.99. Lose It! Basic supplies a daily calorie budget for free, while Lose It! Premium adds paid tools for $79.99 a year.
Targets, meal entry and membership terms
| Plan or feature | MacroFactor | Lose It |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | No free version. checked October 11, 2026. | Lose It! Basic costs $0 and includes a daily calorie budget. checked October 11, 2026. |
| Free trial | 7-day free trial. checked October 11, 2026. | 7-day free trial for new users who have not tried Premium before. checked October 11, 2026. |
| How the calorie target is set and updated | Guided questions set the first Coached program. Logged food and trend weight inform weekly adjustments. Manual programs have no assigned adjustments. checked October 11, 2026, checked October 11, 2026. | Weight, height, age, sex, activity level and a chosen weekly goal inform the budget. New recorded weights change it. checked October 11, 2026, checked October 11, 2026. |
| Barcode scanning | A barcode scanner is included. checked October 11, 2026. | Scan It is moving to Premium. Some free members retain access during the change. checked October 11, 2026. |
| Photo or AI meal logging | Meal photos produce editable food entries through MacroFactor AI. checked October 11, 2026. | Snap It photo logging requires Premium. checked October 11, 2026. |
| Voice logging | Describe accepts keyboard dictation and searches common foods rather than the full branded food database. checked October 11, 2026. | Say It searches food by voice. The membership article and App Store description place voice logging under Premium. checked October 11, 2026, checked October 11, 2026, checked October 11, 2026. |
| Macro goals | Coached, Collaborative and Manual programs offer different control over calorie and macro goals. checked October 11, 2026. | Custom nutrient goals require Premium. Different macro goals for different days are unavailable. checked October 11, 2026. |
| Apple Watch | The Watch app displays daily calories, macros and micronutrients. checked October 11, 2026. | Using Apple Watch with Lose It calls the connection a free iOS feature. Lose It! Membership Tiers and Pricing lists automatic smartwatch and fitness tracker syncing under Premium. checked October 11, 2026, checked October 11, 2026. |
| Paid plan names | Only lengths are named on the product page, month to month, every 6 months and yearly. checked October 11, 2026. | Lose It! Premium and Lose It! Lifetime. checked October 11, 2026. |
| Paid prices | $11.99 monthly, $47.99 every 6 months or $71.99 yearly, in US dollars. checked October 11, 2026, checked October 11, 2026. | Premium is $79.99 yearly. Lifetime is $299.99 once for Basic accounts or $229.99 once for active Premium members. Monthly Premium price is Not stated. checked October 11, 2026. |
MacroFactor asks questions first and reviews the log weekly
Calorie-burn estimates from wearable devices do not enter MacroFactor's expenditure calculation or target adjustments. The MacroFactor review covers the app separately. Other pairings include MacroFactor with MyFitnessPal and MacroFactor with Cronometer.
Lose It recalculates the budget as recorded weight changes
New weight records move the calorie budget down or up with weight. Reaching the goal weight switches the app to a maintenance plan. Its macronutrient calculation article says macro goals do not automatically change with weight, even though the overall calorie budget does.
The separate Lose It review discusses its budget and memberships. The MyFitnessPal and Lose It comparison and Cronometer and Lose It comparison cover two other pairings.
The goals MacroFactor describes
MacroFactor's App Store description lists goals to lose, maintain or gain weight. Its program guide recommends Coached for most users and describes Manual as an option for people following a nutrition coach's calorie and macro recommendations.
The purpose Lose It describes
What the listed payments total over a year
These calculations use the listed US dollar prices.
- MacroFactor month to month costs $11.99 monthly. For a year, 12 x $11.99 = $143.88.
- MacroFactor every 6 months costs $47.99 per payment. For a year, 2 x $47.99 = $95.98.
- MacroFactor yearly costs $71.99 for the year.
- Lose It! Basic costs $0. Lose It! Premium costs $79.99 per year and renews annually. Monthly Premium price is Not stated.
- Lose It! Lifetime costs $299.99 once for a free or Basic account, or $229.99 once for an active Premium member. It provides permanent Premium access without a yearly renewal charge.
The MacroFactor payment guide and Lose It membership cost guide cover each app's purchase terms.
TrueCal offers another way to keep a food log
TrueCal includes manual calorie logging on its free plan. Pro turns a typed description, spoken description, photo or barcode into a food log. Macros also require Pro. The TrueCal comparison directory collects more app comparisons.
Questions about payment and target changes
Can MacroFactor be used on a free plan?
MacroFactor offers a 7-day trial, but no free subscription tier.
Does Lose It publish a monthly Premium price?
Not stated. Its membership article lists Lose It! Premium at $79.99 per year.
Are MacroFactor check-in changes required?
Company pages behind the details
- MacroFactor product and subscription details, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It membership tiers and pricing, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It Premium trial terms, checked October 11, 2026
- MacroFactor program styles, checked October 11, 2026
- MacroFactor expenditure calculation, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It budget calculation, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It budget changes, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It barcode transition, checked October 11, 2026
- MacroFactor AI food entry, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It Snap It instructions, checked October 11, 2026
- MacroFactor Describe instructions, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It food entry instructions, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It App Store description, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It nutrient goals, checked October 11, 2026
- MacroFactor Watch nutrition overview, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It Apple Watch connection, checked October 11, 2026
- MacroFactor App Store description, checked October 11, 2026
- MacroFactor check-ins and coaching, checked October 11, 2026
- MacroFactor wearable expenditure policy, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It macronutrient calculation, checked October 11, 2026
- Lose It stated purpose, checked October 11, 2026
- TrueCal free and Pro logging, checked October 11, 2026
Checked October 11, 2026