Cronometer vs MacroFactor
Cronometer has a free Basic plan and lists Gold at $59.99 a year, with unlimited barcode scanning on Basic and a web app. MacroFactor has no free tier and lists $71.99 a year after a 7 day trial, with barcode scanning in the paid app and no stated web app. Both put photo logging on a paid plan.
| Check | Cronometer | MacroFactor |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest annual list price | $59.99 a year for Gold | $71.99 a year |
| Free tier | Yes, Basic | No |
| Trial | Not stated by Cronometer | 7 days |
| Barcode | Free on Basic | Included in the paid app |
| Photo logging | Gold only | Paid, with Photo, Photo and Text, or Upload |
| Web app | Yes | Not stated |
| Food database | App Store says more than 1.1 million verified foods | More than 1.36 million verified food entries |
Gold versus a paid-only app
Cronometer Gold is $10.99 a month or $59.99 a year. The Gold page also shows $4.99 USD per month billed annually at $59.99, and a 54% save line. Basic stays free for unlimited time, with the full database, calories and up to 95 nutrients, unlimited barcode scanning, custom foods, meals, recipes, device sync, and a 7 day window for reports. Gold removes ads and adds photo logging, voice logging, and Crono Coach.
MacroFactor charges $11.99 a month or $71.99 a year, with a 7 day trial and no free plan afterward. Help also lists $47.99 a half year. The 2026 nutrition plus workouts bundle is $89.99 a year for new starts. Everything in MacroFactor, including search, is behind that paywall.
Photo logging is paid on both. Cronometer documented mobile photo logging as Gold only on July 3, 2025. MacroFactor documents a photo beta that prefers lab-analyzed database results. Voice is Gold only on Cronometer. MacroFactor documents Watch voice logging and marks voice or text AI logging in its own comparison table.
Both companies talk about verified foods. Cronometer names NCCDB, USDA, and several national files, and says data is not crowd-sourced guesses. MacroFactor cites more than 1.36 million verified entries and an Open Food Facts partnership. Cronometer's App Store listing says more than 1.1 million verified foods. The companies publish different counts.
Where TrueCal fits
TrueCal sits beside both as a meal-description logger. AI logging comes with Pro. Manual calorie logging stays free. Eligible customers can try Pro free for 14 days in the iPhone or Android app. It works on iPhone, Android, and the web. Sources are shown. Pro includes caffeine tracking with a daily budget.
See TrueCal pricing.
Which one to pick
Pick Cronometer if you want a free barcode scanner, a web app, and a long nutrient list, and you can live without a stated Gold trial. Pay $59.99 a year if you want photo, voice, and Crono Coach.
Pick MacroFactor if you will pay after 7 days, want its photo workflow and barcode in one paid app, and do not need a free tier or a stated web logger. Budget $71.99 a year, or $89.99 if you add Workouts as a 2026 starter.
Pick TrueCal if describing meals on phone or web is the main job, with free manual calories. AI logging comes with Pro. Try the same foods in each app.
Frequently asked questions
Is Cronometer cheaper than MacroFactor?
On published yearly list prices, Gold is $59.99 and MacroFactor is $71.99. Cronometer also has a free Basic plan. MacroFactor does not. Cronometer does not state a free trial. MacroFactor states 7 days.
Which app scans barcodes for free?
Cronometer includes unlimited barcode scanning on Basic. MacroFactor includes barcode scanning in the paid app only.
Do both apps have a website logger?
Cronometer lists web, iOS, and Android. MacroFactor lists iOS and Android. MacroFactor does not list a web app.
Is photo logging included for free?
No. Cronometer photo logging is Gold only. MacroFactor photo logging is part of the paid app.
Sources
- Cronometer Gold page
- Cronometer free nutrition tracking page
- MacroFactor US App Store listing
- MacroFactor product page
- Cronometer subscription types help
- Cronometer mobile photo logging help
- MacroFactor AI food logging help
- Cronometer US App Store listing
- Cronometer accurate databases page
- Cronometer mobile voice logging help
- MacroFactor subscriptions and bundles help
- MacroFactor Apple Watch page
- MacroFactor comparison page about Cal AI
- TrueCal features
- TrueCal how it works
- TrueCal pricing
- TrueCal llms.txt product facts
Checked September 23, 2026