MyFitnessPal vs Cronometer
MyFitnessPal lists Premium at $79.99 a year and puts barcode, photo, and voice logging on paid plans. Cronometer lists Gold at $59.99 a year, includes unlimited barcode scanning on Basic, and its free app page says calories and up to 95 nutrients. Pick MyFitnessPal for a large mixed database and a free search log, or Cronometer for verified foods, up to 95 nutrients, and free barcode scanning.
| Check | MyFitnessPal | Cronometer |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest annual list price | $79.99 a year for Premium | $59.99 a year for Gold |
| Free tier | Yes, with search logging and ads | Yes, Basic with calories and up to 95 nutrients |
| Trial | 7 days for Premium | Not stated by Cronometer |
| Barcode | Paid on Premium and Premium+ | Free on Basic |
| Photo logging | Paid Meal Scan | Paid, Gold only |
| Voice logging | Paid, iOS and Android, English only | Paid, Gold only |
| Web logging | Yes | Yes |
| Food database | Help center says 19 million foods and counting | App Store says more than 1.1 million verified foods |
Price, barcode, and nutrient detail
MyFitnessPal lists Premium at $19.99 a month or $79.99 a year on its live Premium page. Cronometer lists Gold at $10.99 a month billed monthly, or $59.99 a year billed annually. Cronometer's Gold page also prints $4.99 USD per month, billed annually at $59.99, and a 54% save line.
MyFitnessPal offers a 7 day Premium trial for accounts that never had Premium or a Premium trial. Cronometer does not state a free trial on its official Gold or subscription pages. MyFitnessPal's free tier includes food search, macros by percentage, diary sharing, and ads. Cronometer's Basic plan is unlimited in time, includes the full database, calories and up to 95 nutrients, unlimited barcode scanning, custom foods, and a 7 day window for reports.
Barcode scanning is a paid Premium and Premium+ feature in MyFitnessPal. Cronometer includes unlimited barcode scanning on a Basic account. Photo logging is paid in both apps. MyFitnessPal calls it Meal Scan. Cronometer documents mobile photo logging as Gold only, in a help article created July 3, 2025. Voice logging is paid in both apps. MyFitnessPal's voice help says iOS and Android only, English only, and not on the website. Cronometer documents mobile voice logging as Gold only.
Database size figures conflict within each company's published material. MyFitnessPal's help center, updated September 21, 2026, says 19 million foods and counting. Cronometer's App Store listing says a curated database of more than 1.1 million verified foods. Cronometer says its data is sourced from lab-analyzed data, not crowd-sourced guesses, and that submitted items undergo a verification process.
Where TrueCal fits
TrueCal is a separate app. AI logging comes with Pro. Manual calorie logging stays free. Eligible customers can try Pro free for 14 days in the iPhone or Android app. It works on iPhone, Android, and the web. Sources are shown on the estimate. Pro includes caffeine tracking with a daily budget.
Cronometer lists up to 95 nutrients and a verified lab-sourced database. MyFitnessPal says its database includes researched items and member submissions.
See TrueCal pricing.
Which one to pick
Pick MyFitnessPal if you already live in its diary, want a free search log, and are willing to pay for barcode, photo, and voice. The free version shows ads. Premium is $79.99 a year on the live US page. An April 2025 blog post listed Premium+ prices, but the live Premium page on September 23, 2026 showed Premium only.
Pick Cronometer if barcode scanning should stay free and you care about verified foods and a long nutrient list. Gold is cheaper than MyFitnessPal Premium on these yearly list prices, $59.99 against $79.99. Photo and voice stay behind Gold. Cronometer does not state a free trial.
Pick TrueCal if describing a meal in plain English is the habit you want. AI logging comes with Pro. Manual calorie logging stays free afterward. Try the same meals in each app before you pay.
Frequently asked questions
Is Cronometer cheaper than MyFitnessPal?
On US yearly list prices checked September 23, 2026, Cronometer Gold is $59.99 a year and MyFitnessPal Premium is $79.99 a year. Monthly list prices are $10.99 for Cronometer Gold and $19.99 for MyFitnessPal Premium. Promotions and store SKUs can differ.
Which app has free barcode scanning?
Cronometer includes unlimited barcode scanning on a Basic account. MyFitnessPal lists barcode scanning as a Premium and Premium+ feature.
Does Cronometer offer a free trial?
Cronometer does not state a free trial on its Gold page or its subscription types help article. MyFitnessPal states a 7 day Premium trial for accounts that never had Premium or a Premium trial.
Can I use either app on the web?
Yes. MyFitnessPal help says logging is available on the website. Cronometer lists web, iOS, and Android.
Sources
- MyFitnessPal Premium page
- MyFitnessPal help on Free, Premium, and Premium+
- Cronometer Gold page
- Cronometer free nutrition tracking page
- MyFitnessPal free version help
- Cronometer subscription types help
- Cronometer mobile photo logging help
- MyFitnessPal voice logging help
- Cronometer mobile voice logging help
- MyFitnessPal check marked items help
- Cronometer US App Store listing
- Cronometer accurate databases page
- TrueCal features
- TrueCal how it works
- TrueCal pricing
- TrueCal llms.txt product facts
- MyFitnessPal food database accuracy help
- MyFitnessPal membership pricing tiers blog post
Checked September 23, 2026