MyFitnessPal alternatives
Five apps people compare with MyFitnessPal are Cronometer, Lose It!, MacroFactor, Cal AI, and TrueCal. Cronometer Gold is $59.99 a year with free barcode scanning on Basic, Lose It! Premium matches MyFitnessPal at $79.99 a year, and MacroFactor is $71.99 a year with no free tier. Cal AI does not publish a site price list. See TrueCal pricing.
| App | Yearly list price | Free tier | Barcode | Photo | Web |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MyFitnessPal | $79.99 Premium | Yes, with ads | Paid | Paid | Yes |
| Cronometer | $59.99 Gold | Yes, Basic | Free on Basic | Paid Gold | Yes |
| Lose It! | $79.99 Premium | Yes, Basic | Paid, transitioning | Paid Snap It | Yes |
| MacroFactor | $71.99 | No | Paid, included | Paid | Not stated |
| Cal AI | Not published on its site | Scanning results need a subscription | Yes, paywall split not stated | Yes, paid | Not stated |
| TrueCal | See TrueCal pricing | Manual calorie logging, free forever | With Pro | With Pro | Yes |
What each alternative actually offers
Cronometer is the cheaper yearly Gold plan in this set at $59.99, with a real Basic tier that includes unlimited barcode scanning and up to 95 nutrients. It does not state a free trial. Photo and voice logging are Gold only. The company stresses verified, lab-analyzed foods rather than a mixed member database.
Lose It! matches MyFitnessPal's $79.99 yearly Premium list price and keeps a Basic free tier. Lifetime is $299.99 one time, or $229.99 if you already pay annual Premium. Barcode scanning is moving to Premium. Snap It and Say It are Premium and English only. The site footer names FitNow, Inc., a Ziff Davis company.
MacroFactor is paid only after a 7 day trial, $71.99 a year, with barcode and photo in that paid app. It does not state a web app. Cal AI is photo-first, owned by MyFitnessPal since December 2025, and does not publish prices on its site. App Store SKUs range from $2.99 to $29.99. Scanning results require a subscription. TechCrunch reported a brief App Store removal in April 2026.
MyFitnessPal itself still matters as the baseline. Free includes search logging and ads. Premium is $79.99 a year. Barcode, Meal Scan, and Voice Log are paid. Help says 19 million foods and counting. The company says the database mixes researched items and member submissions.
Where TrueCal fits
TrueCal works on iPhone, Android, and the web. AI logging comes with Pro. Manual calorie logging stays free. Eligible customers can try Pro free for 14 days in the iPhone or Android app. Sources are shown. Pro includes caffeine tracking with a daily budget.
See TrueCal pricing.
Which one to pick
Stay on MyFitnessPal if its diary, web log, and mixed database already work, and you only needed a map of the paid extras.
Move to Cronometer if free barcode scanning and verified nutrients are the gap. Move to Lose It! if Lifetime pricing is the gap. Move to MacroFactor if you want a paid-only macro logger with photo and barcode and you do not need a free tier. Look at Cal AI if photo-first on iPhone or Android is the gap, and read the missing site price list plus the April 2026 App Store report before you pay. Cal AI vs MyFitnessPal puts the two apps side by side on free features and paid plans.
Try TrueCal if describing the meal, then checking sources, is the habit you want. AI logging comes with Pro. Manual calorie logging stays free. Log the same three meals in any shortlist before you subscribe.
Frequently asked questions
How do yearly prices compare across MyFitnessPal alternatives?
Among published yearly list prices, Cronometer Gold is $59.99, MacroFactor is $71.99, and Lose It! Premium and MyFitnessPal Premium are $79.99. Cal AI does not publish a site price. See TrueCal pricing.
Which alternative keeps barcode scanning free?
Cronometer includes unlimited barcode scanning on Basic. MyFitnessPal and Lose It! put barcode scanning on paid plans, with Lose It! still transitioning some free members. MacroFactor includes it in the paid app.
Is Cal AI still separate from MyFitnessPal?
MyFitnessPal says the acquisition closed in December 2025 and Cal AI stays a standalone app.
Does TrueCal work after the phone app trial without paying?
Manual calorie logging stays free. Eligible customers can try Pro free for 14 days in the iPhone or Android app. AI logging comes with Pro. See TrueCal pricing.
Sources
- Cronometer Gold page
- Cronometer free nutrition tracking page
- Lose It! membership tiers and pricing help
- MacroFactor US App Store listing
- Cal AI homepage
- TrueCal pricing
- MyFitnessPal Premium page
- MyFitnessPal help on Free, Premium, and Premium+
- MyFitnessPal free version help
- Cronometer mobile photo logging help
- Lose It! barcode scanner help
- Lose It! Snap It help
- Lose It! how to log food help
- MacroFactor product page
- MacroFactor AI food logging help
- Cal AI terms of service
- Cal AI US App Store listing
- Cal AI FAQ
- TrueCal llms.txt product facts
- TrueCal features
- Cronometer mobile voice logging help
- Lose It! how it works page
- TechCrunch report on Apple briefly removing Cal AI
- MyFitnessPal check marked items help
- MyFitnessPal food database accuracy help
- MyFitnessPal press release on acquiring Cal AI
- TrueCal how it works
Checked September 23, 2026