Review

Yazio review

By Eric Parker, founder of TrueCal. Updated October 11, 2026.

Yazio describes a nutrition-focused mobile app with calorie and macronutrient tracking. Its basic version can be used free of charge, with a limited selection of core features. Yazio press fact sheet, checked October 11, 2026.

Inside the diary and meal entry tools

The diary holds meals, while the dashboard shows calories consumed, remaining and burned along with macronutrient intake. Activities, water intake and body weight can also be recorded. Yazio diary tutorial, checked October 11, 2026.

Is Yazio free with all of these tools?

The basic calorie tracker is free, while Yazio Pro adds features through a subscription. Yazio press fact sheet, checked October 11, 2026. The help center separates access as follows.

Free versionYazio Pro
Daily analyses. Yazio diary tutorial, checked October 11, 2026.Weekly and monthly data evaluation. Yazio diary tutorial, checked October 11, 2026.
Apple Health on iOS and Health Connect on Android. Yazio device connections, checked October 11, 2026.Samsung Health on Android, Fitbit, Garmin and Polar Flow. Yazio device connections, checked October 11, 2026.
The store listings disclose advertising. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026. Yazio US Google Play listing, checked October 11, 2026.An ad-free experience is listed among Pro features. Yazio Pro features, checked October 11, 2026.
AI photo logging is no longer included free. Yazio AI photo help, checked October 11, 2026.Photo recognition is included. Yazio AI photo help, checked October 11, 2026.

Yazio's Pro list also includes future meal planning, detailed nutritional information, grocery lists, manual step entry, mood tracking and notes, diary customization, weekend calorie goals and statistics extending up to two years. Yazio Pro features, checked October 11, 2026.

Barcode scanning appears in the store description and is absent from the Pro feature list. Its free or Pro status is Not stated. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026. Yazio Pro features, checked October 11, 2026. The plan requirement for voice and text logging is also Not stated. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026.

Carbohydrate, protein and fat percentages can be changed in Nutrient Goals. Whether this requires Pro is Not stated, and macro goals in grams are Not stated. Yazio goal settings, checked October 11, 2026.

The purchase amounts Apple lists

The US App Store showed these ten in-app purchases in this order on October 11, 2026. Names and capitalization below match the listing. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026.

Purchase nameListed price
12 Months$23.90
YAZIO PRO$32.99
12 Months$47.90
YAZIO PRO$29.99
3 Months$23.99
12 months$23.90
YAZIO PRO$11.90
Semi-Annual$34.99
12 Months$47.90
3 Months$23.99

The listing puts 12 months at both $23.90 and $47.90. Which price a given person sees is Not stated. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026. Google Play lists in-app purchases from $6.99 to $299.99 per item. Yazio US Google Play listing, checked October 11, 2026.

Yazio charges the full amount at the beginning of the selected subscription period. Monthly payment is not possible. Yazio billing periods, checked October 11, 2026. A Pro price on Yazio's public web pages is Not stated. Yazio website, checked October 11, 2026.

The help center describes a 7-day free trial of all Pro content and functions, offered occasionally and only on Yazio's website. It cannot be started directly in the app. Yazio trial terms, checked October 11, 2026.

Ratings shown by the two stores

These are the US listing numbers read on October 11, 2026.

StoreDisplayed ratingDisplayed rating or review count
App Store. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026.4.7 out of 551K Ratings
Google Play. Yazio US Google Play listing, checked October 11, 2026.4.4 stars869K reviews

Recipe access and the fasting tracker

The help center includes one fasting tracker in the free version and reserves the others for Pro. It also places Yazio's recipes in Pro and describes creating personal recipes separately. Yazio diary tutorial, checked October 11, 2026.

Yazio numbers in two published comparisons

A 2026 study analyzed 22 three-day dietary records with identical food entries in NutriComp and Yazio. The researchers reported higher energy, carbohydrate and protein values from NutriComp, while Yazio tended to overestimate fat consumption. 2026 NutriComp and Yazio study, checked October 11, 2026.

A 2021 study compared five Italian-language apps with a three-day food diary. It reported that Yazio underestimated energy by an average of 5.4 kcal per item relative to the reference method. 2021 food diary comparison study, checked October 11, 2026.

Yazio vs MyFitnessPal by feature and plan

FeatureYazioMyFitnessPal
Free planThe basic version contains a limited selection of core features at no charge. Yazio press fact sheet, checked October 11, 2026.A basic account and standard features are free. MyFitnessPal free features, checked October 11, 2026.
Barcode scanningListed in the store description but not in the Pro feature list. Free or Pro access is Not stated. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026. Yazio Pro features, checked October 11, 2026.The plan table includes the scanner with Premium and Premium+ only. MyFitnessPal plan comparison, checked October 11, 2026.
Photo or AI loggingAI meal photos require Yazio Pro. Yazio AI photo help, checked October 11, 2026.Meal Scan requires Premium, English, iOS 18 or Android 13 and above, and app version 22.17 or newer. MyFitnessPal Meal Scan help, checked October 11, 2026.
Macro goalsPercentages for carbohydrates, protein and fat can be adjusted. Free or Pro access and gram goals are Not stated. Yazio goal settings, checked October 11, 2026.Percentage goals appear in every plan. Gram goals require Premium or Premium+. MyFitnessPal plan comparison, checked October 11, 2026.
Paid plan namesYazio Pro. Yazio Pro features, checked October 11, 2026.Premium and Premium+. MyFitnessPal plan comparison, checked October 11, 2026.
Paid pricesUS App Store purchases range from $11.90 to $47.90. See the complete purchase table. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026.Premium is $79.99 a year or $19.99 a month on the Premium page. Premium+ pricing is Not stated there. MyFitnessPal Premium prices, checked October 11, 2026.

The MyFitnessPal review takes a closer look at its diary. The MyFitnessPal Premium cost guide focuses on paid access, and Lifesum vs MyFitnessPal compares those two apps.

TrueCal as another logging option

TrueCal offers manual calorie logging on its free plan. A typed meal description, voice, photo or barcode can produce a log with Pro, which also provides macros. TrueCal logging and macro access, checked October 11, 2026.

The TrueCal app comparison and MyFitnessPal alternatives guide cover other options. Separate pages cover the Lose It! review and the Cronometer review.

Questions about Yazio access

Is Yazio free?

Yazio describes its basic version as free of charge, with a limited selection of core features. Pro is a paid subscription. Yazio press fact sheet, checked October 11, 2026.

How much is Yazio Pro?

The US App Store has ten purchase entries ranging from $11.90 to $47.90. Its 12 month entries show both $23.90 and $47.90, without specifying who receives each price. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026.

Can Yazio run in a web browser?

Yazio says it has no web, Windows or Mac version. The app runs on Android or iOS devices. Yazio device requirements, checked October 11, 2026.

Is there a Yazio Pro trial?

Yazio says its 7-day free trial covers all Pro content and functions. It is offered occasionally through the website and cannot be started directly in the app. Yazio trial terms, checked October 11, 2026.

Sources for features, prices and findings

  1. Yazio press fact sheet, checked October 11, 2026
  2. Yazio diary tutorial, checked October 11, 2026
  3. Yazio food search, checked October 11, 2026
  4. Yazio US App Store listing, checked October 11, 2026
  5. Yazio AI photo help, checked October 11, 2026
  6. Yazio Quick Add help, checked October 11, 2026
  7. Yazio device connections, checked October 11, 2026
  8. Yazio US Google Play listing, checked October 11, 2026
  9. Yazio Pro features, checked October 11, 2026
  10. Yazio goal settings, checked October 11, 2026
  11. Yazio billing periods, checked October 11, 2026
  12. Yazio website, checked October 11, 2026
  13. Yazio trial terms, checked October 11, 2026
  14. 2026 NutriComp and Yazio study, checked October 11, 2026
  15. 2021 food diary comparison study, checked October 11, 2026
  16. MyFitnessPal free features, checked October 11, 2026
  17. MyFitnessPal plan comparison, checked October 11, 2026
  18. MyFitnessPal Meal Scan help, checked October 11, 2026
  19. MyFitnessPal Premium prices, checked October 11, 2026
  20. TrueCal logging and macro access, checked October 11, 2026
  21. Yazio device requirements, checked October 11, 2026