Comparison

Lifesum vs MyFitnessPal

By Eric Parker, founder of TrueCal. Updated October 10, 2026.

Lifesum starts with a program, with food and meal ratings on some programs. New accounts begin on Lifesum Standard. MyFitnessPal centers on a food diary and a database that its App Store listing puts at more than 20.5 million foods.

Lifesum keeps database searches and barcode scanning in Traditional Tracking, which its help center says is available to all users. MyFitnessPal keeps food and exercise entries, macro viewing and percentage goals on Free.

Annual subscriptions and the tools they add

Lifesum lists Premium at $99.99 for 12 months on its website. Premium adds AI meal entry by photo, spoken input or a typed description, along with editable macro percentages and additional programs and meal plans.

The MyFitnessPal website lists Premium at $79.99 a year. That tier includes barcode scanning and macro goals in grams, with Meal Scan and Voice Logging also requiring Premium. Premium+ adds meal planning and grocery lists. Premium+ yearly price is Not stated on its help page.

The Lifesum App Store listing has several Premium purchase prices, including Lifesum Premium 1 year at $99.99 and at $119.99. These are store listing prices. The listing does not identify which price a given account will see.

The free and paid feature lists

FeatureLifesumMyFitnessPal
Free planTraditional Tracking includes food searches. Accounts start on Lifesum Standard. Lifesum tracking methods, checked October 10, 2026. Lifesum Standard, checked October 10, 2026.Food and exercise entries, recipes, macro viewing and percentage goals. MyFitnessPal free features, checked October 10, 2026.
Barcode scanningThe help center includes the scanner in Traditional Tracking and describes that method as available to all users. Lifesum tracking methods, checked October 10, 2026.Included with Premium and Premium+. MyFitnessPal plan comparison, checked October 10, 2026.
Photo or AI meal loggingPhoto recognition and text descriptions belong to Premium AI Tracking. Lifesum tracking methods, checked October 10, 2026.Meal Scan requires Premium, English, iOS 18 or Android 13 and above, and app version 22.17 or newer. MyFitnessPal Meal Scan, checked October 10, 2026.
Voice loggingSpoken meal input through AI Tracking requires Premium. Lifesum tracking methods, checked October 10, 2026.Premium on iOS and Android in English, from app version 24.35.0. Unavailable on the website. MyFitnessPal Voice Logging, checked October 10, 2026.
Macro goalsEditing percentages requires Premium. Goals directly in grams are Not stated. Lifesum macro distribution, checked October 10, 2026.Free allows percentages in 5 percent increments. Premium allows gram goals. MyFitnessPal free features, checked October 10, 2026. MyFitnessPal goal settings, checked October 10, 2026.
Diet plans or meal plansLifesum Standard is the starting program. Other programs and meal plans require Premium. Lifesum programs and meal plans, checked October 10, 2026.Premium+ includes the meal planner, diet preferences and grocery lists. MyFitnessPal plan comparison, checked October 10, 2026.
Apple WatchDaily progress dashboard and water tracking. Food logging from the watch is Not stated. Lifesum Apple Watch app, checked October 10, 2026.Quick calorie entries, water entries and views of remaining calories, nutrients and steps. MyFitnessPal Apple Watch app, checked October 10, 2026.
Paid plan namesLifesum Premium. Lifesum Premium features, checked October 10, 2026.Premium and Premium+. MyFitnessPal plan comparison, checked October 10, 2026.
Paid pricesWebsite Premium is $99.99 for 12 months, $14.99 for one month or $29.99 for 3 months. App Store annual listings include $99.99 and $119.99. Lifesum website subscriptions, checked October 10, 2026. Lifesum App Store listing, checked October 10, 2026.Website Premium is $79.99 a year or $19.99 a month. Premium+ price is Not stated. MyFitnessPal Premium subscription, checked October 10, 2026. MyFitnessPal Premium+, checked October 10, 2026.

A Lifesum program and a meal rating do different things

Lifesum starts each account on its Standard program and offers more program and meal plan choices with Premium. Food ratings appear only with Lifesum Standard, Fasting, Clean Eating, Scandinavian and Mediterranean. Lifesum describes these ratings as an assessment of nutrients, calorie density and food type, using 100 calories of the food.

Meal ratings appear as emojis in the Diary, which Lifesum describes as feedback toward health goals. Its iOS help article says meal ratings are unavailable with Multimodal Tracking enabled.

What goes into the MyFitnessPal diary

MyFitnessPal combines foods entered by its team with foods contributed by users. A free account can record food and exercise, create recipes and share its diary. Our MyFitnessPal review covers the product in more detail.

Meal Scan proposes foods for the person logging to select. MyFitnessPal describes those suggestions as a starting point for the diary entry.

Editing goals and planning meals cost differently

Lifesum requires Premium to change the percentage of calories assigned to each macro. MyFitnessPal allows those percentage changes on Free, in steps of 5 percent. Gram targets and goals that vary by weekday require MyFitnessPal Premium. The MyFitnessPal Premium cost guide details its subscriptions.

MyFitnessPal reserves Meal Planner for Premium+ in the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand and Australia. Plans span 2 to 15 days. The planner is unavailable on its website.

Lifesum review of its own descriptions and store listings

Lifesum describes an app for recording food and exercise, with recipes, meal plans and personalized feedback. Its App Store description lists photo, voice, text and barcode entry. Google Play also describes those entry methods and an independent Wear OS app. The help center assigns AI Tracking to Premium.

The Lifesum App Store listing shows the following in-app purchases. Repeated entries below reflect the listing read on October 10, 2026.

  • Lifesum Premium 1 year $119.99
  • Lifesum Premium 3 Months $39.99
  • Lifesum Premium 3 Months $39.99
  • Lifesum Premium 1 year $99.99
  • Lifesum Premium 3 Months $29.99
  • Lifesum Premium $44.99
  • Lifesum Premium 6 Months $69.99
  • Lifesum Premium $21.99
  • Lifesum Premium 1 year $99.99
  • Lifesum Premium $29.99

The App Store shows 4.6 out of 5 from 150,836 ratings. Google Play shows 4.4 out of 5 from 378,765 ratings and 10M+ downloads. Both were read October 10, 2026.

TrueCal is another option for a meal log

Manual calorie logging remains on TrueCal Free. A typed meal description, voice, photo or barcode uses Pro, as do macros. The app comparison directory includes other comparisons, and alternatives to MyFitnessPal covers more options.

Questions about access and subscriptions

Can Lifesum be used for free?

Yes. Lifesum offers limited free use. Its help center places database searches and barcode scanning under Traditional Tracking, available to all users.

Where are meal plans in MyFitnessPal?

Meal Planner belongs to Premium+. The help center lists plans lasting 2 to 15 days and says the planner is unavailable on the website.

How do the apps charge for barcode scanning?

Lifesum lists its scanner within Traditional Tracking for all users. MyFitnessPal includes scanning in Premium and Premium+.

Company pages used for this comparison

  1. Lifesum Standard, checked October 10, 2026
  2. MyFitnessPal App Store listing, checked October 10, 2026
  3. Lifesum tracking methods, checked October 10, 2026
  4. MyFitnessPal free features, checked October 10, 2026
  5. Lifesum website subscriptions, checked October 10, 2026
  6. Lifesum macro distribution, checked October 10, 2026
  7. Lifesum programs and meal plans, checked October 10, 2026
  8. MyFitnessPal Premium subscription, checked October 10, 2026
  9. MyFitnessPal plan comparison, checked October 10, 2026
  10. MyFitnessPal Meal Scan, checked October 10, 2026
  11. MyFitnessPal Voice Logging, checked October 10, 2026
  12. MyFitnessPal Premium+, checked October 10, 2026
  13. Lifesum App Store listing, checked October 10, 2026
  14. MyFitnessPal goal settings, checked October 10, 2026
  15. Lifesum Apple Watch app, checked October 10, 2026
  16. MyFitnessPal Apple Watch app, checked October 10, 2026
  17. Lifesum Premium features, checked October 10, 2026
  18. Lifesum food ratings, checked October 10, 2026
  19. Lifesum meal ratings on iOS, checked October 10, 2026
  20. MyFitnessPal food data, checked October 10, 2026
  21. MyFitnessPal Meal Planner, checked October 10, 2026
  22. Lifesum website, checked October 10, 2026
  23. Lifesum Google Play listing, checked October 10, 2026
  24. TrueCal plan details, checked October 10, 2026
  25. TrueCal AI logging details, checked October 10, 2026

Checked October 10, 2026