Comparison

Cal AI review

By Eric Parker, founder of TrueCal. Updated September 23, 2026.

Cal AI is a photo-first calorie app from Viral Development LLC, acquired by MyFitnessPal in a deal that closed in December 2025 and stays a standalone app. Cal AI does not publish prices on its site, while the US App Store lists in-app purchases from $2.99 to $29.99. TechCrunch reported in April 2026 that Apple had briefly removed Cal AI, then restored it.

TopicWhat is published
OwnerViral Development LLC. MyFitnessPal owned since the December 2025 close
Published price listNot stated on the Cal AI site or terms
App Store in-app purchasesUnlimited SKUs from $2.99 to $29.99. Billing period not shown
Free trial3 days on the Cal AI homepage
Scanning resultsApp Store listing says they require a subscription
Logging methodsPhoto, barcode, describe your meal, manual search
Voice loggingNot stated on Cal AI's own pages
PlatformsiPhone on iOS 18+ and Android 10+. Web logging app not stated

Logging, price, and ownership

Cal AI's homepage and FAQ describe photo logging, barcode scan, describe your meal as text, and manual search. Nutrition label scanning is referenced in FAQ tips. Cal AI says the phone's depth sensor calculates food volume. Cal AI's FAQ says Cal AI is about 80% accurate.

Cal AI's website and terms publish no prices. The US App Store in-app purchase list shows SKUs named Unlimited at $2.99, $5.99, $9.99, $19.99, and $29.99, plus Unlimited Plan at $19.99 and Streak Restore at $0.99. Apple does not show a billing period next to each SKU on that list. The homepage offers a 3 day free trial. The App Store listing says food scanning analysis results require a subscription.

MacroFactor, a competitor, reports that Cal AI support described an annual plan as $30 per year displayed as $3 per month, with a 3 day trial, a family plan, and monthly about $9.99. MacroFactor also says pricing appears to vary between users and promotional offers. That is a competitor report, not a Cal AI price list.

MyFitnessPal announced the acquisition in a March 2, 2026 press release, which says Cal AI will continue as a standalone product. MyFitnessPal's CEO told TechCrunch the deal closed in December 2025, and TechCrunch reported that terms were not disclosed. TechCrunch reported the same close date from MyFitnessPal's CEO.

App Store removal report

TechCrunch reported in April 2026 that Apple had briefly removed Cal AI from the App Store in the week before April 21, 2026, then restored it. 9to5Mac and MacRumors ran matching reports the same day. Exact removal and reinstatement dates are unverified.

Apple gave TechCrunch an on-record statement. The reported issues included bypassing Apple's in-app purchase flow, using deceptive billing design, and other manipulative tactics. TechCrunch said MyFitnessPal and Cal AI did not respond to repeated requests for comment. The app was live on the US App Store on September 23, 2026.

Published user and revenue figures differ. Cal AI's homepage says loved by 5M users with a 4.9 rating. MyFitnessPal told TechCrunch that Cal AI had over 15 million downloads and over $30 million annual revenue. The press release quotes Cal AI CEO Zach Yadegari saying over $40 million in sales in the last 12 months.

Where TrueCal fits

AI logging comes with Pro. Manual calorie logging stays free. Eligible customers can try Pro free for 14 days in the iPhone or Android app. TrueCal works on iPhone, Android, and the web. Sources are shown on the estimate. Pro includes caffeine tracking with a daily budget.

See TrueCal pricing.

Which one to pick

Cal AI may suit you if you want a photo-first iPhone or Android logger, accept that scanning results require a subscription, and are comfortable with prices that are not listed on the company site. Check the live App Store SKUs for your account. Cal AI does not state a web logging app. Subscriptions do not transfer between iOS and Android.

TrueCal may suit you if you want typed meals and free manual calorie logging afterward, on iPhone, Android, and the web, with sources shown. AI logging comes with Pro.

MyFitnessPal says Cal AI stays standalone after the acquisition. See Cal AI vs MyFitnessPal to compare the two apps on free features, paid plans, and logging.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Cal AI cost?

Cal AI does not publish prices on its site or terms. The US App Store lists Unlimited in-app purchases from $2.99 to $29.99, without a billing period next to each SKU. MacroFactor reports different yearly and monthly figures from Cal AI support. Do not treat any of those as a single official price list.

Did Apple remove Cal AI from the App Store?

TechCrunch reported in April 2026 that Apple had briefly removed Cal AI, then restored it. Exact dates are unverified. The app was live on the US App Store on September 23, 2026.

Who owns Cal AI?

MyFitnessPal announced the acquisition on March 2, 2026 and said the deal closed in December 2025. Cal AI stays a standalone app. Terms were not disclosed.

Does Cal AI work on the web?

Cal AI does not state a web logging app. The site has login and manage-subscription pages. Listings cover iPhone and Android.

Sources

  1. Cal AI homepage
  2. MyFitnessPal press release on acquiring Cal AI
  3. Cal AI US App Store listing
  4. TechCrunch report on Apple briefly removing Cal AI
  5. TechCrunch report on the Cal AI acquisition
  6. Cal AI terms of service
  7. Cal AI FAQ
  8. MacroFactor comparison page about Cal AI
  9. 9to5Mac report on the Cal AI App Store removal
  10. MacRumors report on the Cal AI App Store removal
  11. TrueCal features
  12. TrueCal how it works
  13. TrueCal pricing
  14. TrueCal llms.txt product facts

Checked September 23, 2026