Comparison

Best calorie tracker for iPhone, eight listings compared

By Eric Parker, founder of TrueCal. Updated October 12, 2026.

Here are the US App Store listings for MyFitnessPal, Cronometer, Lose It, MacroFactor, Yazio, Lifesum, Cal AI and TrueCal side by side, as read on October 12, 2026. This page does not score, rank or pick an app. The listings and company pages differ most in what is free, in-app purchase prices and the Apple devices listed. Cronometer says its barcode scanner is free, while MyFitnessPal and Lose It put scanning in Premium, and MacroFactor says it has no free version. The highest listed purchase ranges from $29.99 for Cal AI to $119.99 for Lifesum, while the lowest ranges from Cal AI's $0.99 Streak Restore to $21.99 for Lifesum. All eight list iPhone and Apple Watch, six list iPad, five list Mac, six list Apple Vision and three list iPod touch. Cal AI and TrueCal do not list iPad.

What the US App Store listing shows for eight calorie trackers on iPhone, with ratings, size, iOS version, devices and in-app purchases, read October 12, 2026.

Ratings, app size and purchases on the store listings

Facts from US App Store listings checked October 12, 2026
AppRating and number of ratingsApp sizeiOS version requiredApple devices listed under CompatibilityLowest and highest in-app purchases Apple lists
MyFitnessPal4.7 out of 5 from 2.4M ratings347.2 MBiOS 18.0 or lateriPhone, iPad, Apple WatchLowest $9.99, MyFitnessPal Premium and MyFitnessPal Monthly Premium. Highest $79.99, MyFitnessPal Yearly Premium and MyFitnessPal Annual Premium.
Cronometer4.8 out of 5 from 99K ratings158.1 MBiOS 15.5 or lateriPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac, Apple Vision, Apple WatchLowest $10.99, Gold Monthly, Gold Subscription and Cronometer Gold. Highest $59.99, Gold Annual.
Lose It4.8 out of 5 from 781K ratings229.6 MBiOS 18.0 or lateriPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision, Apple WatchLowest $9.99, Lose It! Premium. Highest $79.99, Lose It! Premium.
MacroFactor4.8 out of 5 from 23K ratings249.7 MBiOS 15.6 or lateriPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac, Apple Vision, Apple WatchLowest $9.99, Monthly Subscription. Highest $89.99, Annual Subscription Bundle.
Yazio4.7 out of 5 from 51K ratings465.7 MBiOS 16.0 or lateriPhone, iPad, Apple WatchLowest $11.90, YAZIO PRO. Highest $47.90, 12 Months.
Lifesum4.6 out of 5 from 151K ratings246.3 MBiOS 17.0 or lateriPhone, iPad, Apple Vision, Apple WatchLowest $21.99, Lifesum Premium. Highest $119.99, Lifesum Premium 1 year.
Cal AI4.8 out of 5 from 370K ratings325 MBiOS 18.0 or lateriPhone, Mac, Apple Vision, Apple WatchLowest $0.99, Streak Restore. Highest $29.99, Unlimited.
TrueCal4.5 out of 5 from 4 ratings75.3 MBiOS 15.1 or lateriPhone, iPod touch, Mac, Apple Vision, Apple WatchLowest $9.99, TrueCal Pro Monthly. Highest $69.99, TrueCal Pro Annual.

All eight listings show the app as free with in-app purchases, with ten purchases shown for each app except TrueCal, which shows four. Apple gives each purchase a name and price without saying how long it lasts or which offer a new subscriber receives. The price, rating and rating count appear at the top of a listing, while Size, Compatibility and In-App Purchases sit further down under Information, with Compatibility opening to a line for each device and its required system version.

Six iPhone features described by the companies

These cells use only company websites and help centers, not store screenshots or third-party sites. Not stated means the company pages opened that day do not say it. Plan not stated means a page describes the feature without saying whether it is free or paid. MacroFactor's product page says there is no free version, so all of its features sit inside its subscription.

Cells from each company's website or help pages checked October 12, 2026
AppApple Health syncApple Watch appVoice or Siri loggingHome screen or Lock Screen widgetsBarcode scanningPhoto logging
MyFitnessPalYes. Plan not stated. Apple Health sync help.Yes. Plan not stated. Apple Watch app help.Voice Logging, Premium. Siri not stated. Voice Logging help.Home Screen widgets. Lock Screen not stated. Plan not stated. Home Screen widget help.Premium. Barcode Scanner help.Meal Scan, Premium. Meal Scan help.
CronometerYes, free. Apple Health connection help and free account features.Yes. Free users get the All Targets Score, other nutrition scores need Gold. Apple Watch app help.Voice Logging and Siri logging, both Gold. Voice Logging help and Siri logging help.Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets. The Fasting widget needs Gold. Plan not stated for the rest. Home Screen widget help, Lock Screen update and widget options and plans.Free. Basic account features.Gold. Photo Logging help.
Lose ItYes, for all iOS users. More data types need Premium. Apple Health data help.Not stated. Its help pages describe connecting an Apple Watch through Apple Health as free. Apple Watch connection help.Say It voice logging, Premium. Siri not stated. Food logging help and membership plans.Home Screen widgets. Lock Screen not stated. Plan not stated. Widget setup help.Scan It, Premium. An older help article says some free members still have access during the change. Membership plans and Scan It transition help.Snap It, Premium. Snap It help.
MacroFactorYes. Apple Health integration help.Yes. Apple Watch product page.Voice through Describe. Siri not stated. Describe logging help.Home and Lock Screen widgets. iPhone widget help.Yes. Food logging and scanner help.Yes. AI photo logging help.
YazioYes, free. Supported connections and plans.Yes. Plan not stated. Apple Watch installation help.Siri voice commands. In-app voice logging not stated. Plan not stated. iPhone app features.Home screen widgets. Lock Screen widgets not stated. Plan not stated. iPhone app features.Yes. Plan not stated. Calorie counter and scanner page.Yazio Pro. AI photo tracking help.
LifesumYes. Plan not stated. Apple Health sync help.Yes. Plan not stated. Watch app help.Voice input in AI Tracking, Premium. Siri commands, plan not stated. AI Tracking help and Siri shortcut help.Home screen widgets, free. Lock Screen water widget, plan not stated. Home screen widget help and Lock Screen water widget help.Yes. Plan not stated. Barcode scanner help.AI Tracking, Premium. AI and traditional tracking help.
Cal AIReads steps from Apple Health. Plan not stated. Writing food data to Apple Health is not stated. Cal AI steps connection help.Not statedVoice logging is named in its privacy policy. Siri not stated. Plan not stated. Cal AI privacy policy.Not statedYes. Plan not stated. Cal AI product page.Yes. Plan not stated. Cal AI product page.
TrueCalNot statedNot statedVoice logging, Pro. Siri not stated. TrueCal product facts.Not statedPro. TrueCal product facts.Pro. TrueCal product facts.

What free calorie tracking includes on iPhone

MyFitnessPal's plan guide describes Free as logging, Premium as adding insights and Premium+ as planning meals and building a grocery list. Its help pages put barcode scanning, Voice Logging and Meal Scan in Premium. Cronometer Basic includes food, macro, vitamin and mineral tracking and unlimited barcode scanning. Apple Health sync is free, while voice, Siri, photos, additional watch nutrition scores and the Fasting widget need Gold.

Lose It Basic provides a personalized calorie budget and access to its food database. Premium includes barcode, photo and voice logging, and some additional Apple Health data types require Premium. MacroFactor says there is no free version and offers a 7-day free trial of its subscription.

Yazio's company page says everyone can try Yazio for free to learn the basics of healthy eating. Its help pages name Apple Health as free and photo tracking as Pro. Lifesum's home screen widgets are free, while voice input and photo recognition in AI Tracking require Premium. Its Premium help page says that membership gives access to all app content.

Cal AI's website names no free plan and advertises a 3-day free trial. Its pages do not identify which features require a subscription. TrueCal's free plan includes manual calorie logging, calories displayed and daily and weekly views. TrueCal's product facts put typed meal descriptions, voice, photo and barcode logging, plus macros, in Pro.

How each company describes its app

MyFitnessPal

MyFitnessPal describes its app as tracking calories, macros, micronutrients and water. The listing requires iOS 18.0 or later, and its help center puts both Voice Logging and Meal Scan in Premium. Our MyFitnessPal review and MyFitnessPal alternatives comparison cover it further.

Cronometer

Cronometer says its tracking brings together diet, exercise and health data, from macros to micronutrients. Its free Basic account includes barcode scanning, while its Apple Watch help page reserves nutrition scores other than the All Targets Score for Gold. The Cronometer review covers its tracking and plans.

Lose It

Lose It describes calorie counting and nutrition tracking as part of its app. Its listing includes Apple Watch under Compatibility, while the company help page describes a free Apple Health connection to the watch. The Lose It review has more on its logging tools.

MacroFactor

MacroFactor calls itself a macro tracker and nutrition coach for tracking weight and food. Its iPhone tools include Home and Lock Screen widgets and voice entry through Describe. Read the MacroFactor review for its tracking approach.

Yazio

Yazio describes food, fitness and fasting tracking. Its iPhone page names Siri food diary commands, and its help center says Apple Health is available free. The Yazio review covers the app and its Pro plan.

Lifesum

Lifesum says it tracks food intake and exercise habits and offers personalized feedback, recipes and meal plans. Its free home screen widgets and its Lock Screen water widget have separate help pages, with the latter leaving the plan unstated. The Lifesum and MyFitnessPal comparison looks at the two apps.

Cal AI

Cal AI describes calorie and nutrient tracking through a meal photo, barcode or description. Its listing requires iOS 18.0 or later, and its privacy policy names voice logging without identifying a plan. The Cal AI review covers its photo logging.

TrueCal

TrueCal describes itself as a calorie and macro tracker with free manual calorie logging and Pro for typed meal descriptions, voice, photos, barcodes and macros. Its App Store listing shows Apple Watch under Compatibility. That listing shows four in-app purchases, TrueCal Pro Annual at $29.99 and $69.99, and TrueCal Pro Monthly at $10.00 and $9.99. The website pricing page gives the website price as $29.99 a year or $9.99 a month.

More comparisons and source details

The calorie tracker comparison index links to individual comparisons. Our AI logging comparison covers how apps log meals, and the published accuracy evidence comparison looks at the evidence behind their claims. For nutrition source details, read which trackers show where their numbers come from.

Sources checked for this comparison