Apple Watch calorie trackers that let you log food on the watch
For a calorie counter on your wrist, MacroFactor describes voice entry and saved or recent foods, Cronometer describes recent foods, and MyFitnessPal describes quick calorie and water entry. TrueCal logs meals by voice on the watch, while Lifesum describes water entry only.
This table draws on the companies' own pages read October 24, 2026, with TrueCal watch details from its app code. Not stated marks a detail those pages do not give.
What each Apple Watch app lets you log on the watch
| App | Has a watch app | Ways to log food on the watch | What the watch shows | Plan needed for watch logging |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MyFitnessPal checked October 24, 2026 | Yes checked October 24, 2026 | Quick add calories and water checked October 24, 2026 | Remaining calories and nutrients, steps and step goal, watch face complications for calories, carbs, fat and protein checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 |
| Cronometer checked October 24, 2026 | Yes checked October 24, 2026 | Add foods from the most recent items checked October 24, 2026 | Energy consumed and remaining, highlighted targets and nutrition scores. Free accounts get the All Targets Score. All scores need Gold checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 |
| Lose It! checked October 24, 2026 | Yes, listed in the App Store checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 |
| MacroFactor checked October 24, 2026 | Yes checked October 24, 2026 | Speak a food or choose custom foods, recipes, favorites and recent items. Weight logging is also available checked October 24, 2026 | Calories, macros, key micronutrients and a timeline of the day checked October 24, 2026 | Paid subscription. No free subscription tier checked October 24, 2026 |
| Cal AI checked October 24, 2026 | Yes, listed in the App Store checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 |
| Lifesum checked October 24, 2026 | Yes checked October 24, 2026 | Water. Food logging is Not stated checked October 24, 2026 | Tracked calories and macros, exercise progress and water checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 |
| Yazio checked October 24, 2026 | Yes checked October 24, 2026 | Meals. Method is Not stated checked October 24, 2026 | Diet information. Details are Not stated checked October 24, 2026 | Not stated checked October 24, 2026 |
| TrueCal | Yes | Voice, tap and speak for up to 15 seconds | Calories left or over against your target, and protein, carbs and fat against your targets, plus watch face complications | Pro for voice logging checked October 24, 2026 |
Speaking a meal into your watch
MacroFactor's Apple Watch page describes speaking a food, receiving a suggestion you can edit, and confirming it. Its App Store listing says there is no free subscription tier. TrueCal also accepts spoken meals on Apple Watch, with voice logging included in Pro.
MyFitnessPal's voice help article and the Lose It! App Store listing put phone voice logging on Premium. Cronometer's Siri instructions are for Gold users on iOS and give iPhone steps. Yazio's iOS page describes Siri voice commands. None of these four sources says voice entry works on the watch.
The Lifesum watch help page and Cal AI App Store listing do not mention watch voice entry.
Food calories and burned calories measure different things
The apps above count calories you eat. Apple Watch estimates calories you burn. Apple's measurement support page says height, weight, gender and age are used to calculate calories burned. Read about how close Apple Watch estimates tend to be, or compare active, resting and total calories.
MyFitnessPal's Apple Watch help article says it does not yet factor in the active calories measured separately by the watch. That can leave MyFitnessPal and the watch reporting different calorie totals.
Using TrueCal from your wrist
TrueCal's watch voice log screen lets you tap and speak for up to 15 seconds to log a meal. A failed upload keeps the recording for another attempt.
Today shows calories left or over against your target. It can show protein, carbs and fat in grams against your targets, and has a Log by voice button. Before the watch has synced, it asks you to open TrueCal on your iPhone and still allows voice logging.
Watch face complications show calories and macros, steps against your step goal, or calories and steps together. Setup happens in the iPhone app.
Voice logging is part of Pro, which the App Store listing says includes photo, voice, barcode and typed food logging.
Before choosing a watch food log
Can a calorie counter add food from my wrist?
Yes. MacroFactor describes spoken entries and saved or recent foods. Cronometer describes adding recent foods, and MyFitnessPal describes quick calorie entry. TrueCal lets you speak a meal on the watch.
Which watch apps accept a spoken meal?
MacroFactor describes voice entry on Apple Watch and has no free subscription tier. TrueCal offers watch voice logging with Pro.
What happens if a TrueCal watch upload fails?
TrueCal keeps the recording so you can retry the upload.
Does Lifesum describe food entry on Apple Watch?
The Lifesum help page describes water tracking on the watch. Food logging is Not stated.
References for the watch features above
- MyFitnessPal Apple Watch help, checked October 24, 2026
- MyFitnessPal voice entry help, checked October 24, 2026
- Cronometer watch help, checked October 24, 2026
- Cronometer Siri instructions, checked October 24, 2026
- Lose It! App Store listing, checked October 24, 2026
- MacroFactor watch features, checked October 24, 2026
- MacroFactor App Store listing, checked October 24, 2026
- Cal AI App Store listing, checked October 24, 2026
- Lifesum watch help, checked October 24, 2026
- Yazio watch setup, checked October 24, 2026
- Yazio iOS features, checked October 24, 2026
- TrueCal App Store listing, checked October 24, 2026
- Apple Watch measurement support, checked October 24, 2026