Nutrition facts, USDA data

Salmon calories, farmed, wild and sockeye

By Eric Parker, founder of TrueCal. Updated September 29, 2026.

Cooked farmed salmon, 175 calories in 3 oz

3 oz of cooked farmed Atlantic salmon has 175 calories. Half a fillet, the other portion USDA lists, is 178 g and 367 calories.

Cooked farmed salmon has 206 calories per 100 g. Wild Atlantic and sockeye come in lower, at 155 and 133 calories for the same 3 oz.

USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, dry heat. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, sockeye, cooked, dry heat. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, wild, cooked, dry heat. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Half a fillet or a whole one

A whole cooked farmed fillet comes to 356 g and 733 calories. Your fillet may not match USDA's, so weigh it when you can.

3 oz of raw farmed salmon has 177 calories, for when you weigh the fish before cooking it.

PortionWeightCalories kcalProtein gCarbs gFat gFiber gSugar gSodium mgCaffeine mgPortion source
3 oz cooked farmed salmon85 g17518.8010.50051.90USDA portion, 3 oz
Half a cooked farmed fillet178 g36739.302200108.60USDA portion, half a fillet
A whole cooked farmed fillet356 g73378.704400217.201 fillet, computed from USDA's half a fillet
3 oz raw farmed salmon85 g17717.4011.40050.10USDA portion, 3 oz
3 oz cooked sockeye salmon85 g13322.504.70078.20USDA portion, 3 oz
3 oz cooked wild Atlantic salmon85 g15521.606.90Not reported47.6Not reportedUSDA portion, 3 oz

USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, dry heat. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, raw. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Salmon macros in a 3 oz serving

3 oz of cooked farmed salmon has 18.8 g of protein and 10.5 g of fat, with no carbs.

Comparing protein sources? Chicken breast, eggs, ground beef and Greek yogurt each have a page, and the calorie references list the rest.

Nutrient3 oz cooked farmed salmonPer 100 g
Calories 175 kcal 206 kcal
Protein 18.8 g 22.1 g
Carbs 0 g 0 g
Fat 10.5 g 12.3 g
Fiber 0 g 0 g
Sugar 0 g 0 g
Sodium 51.9 mg 61 mg

USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, dry heat. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Farmed, wild and sockeye, raw or cooked

Per 100 g cooked, sockeye has 156 calories and 5.6 g of fat. Wild Atlantic salmon has 182 calories and 8.1 g of fat, and farmed Atlantic has 206 calories and 12.3 g of fat.

Raw farmed salmon has 208 calories per 100 g and cooked has 206. Use the raw number only if the fish was weighed raw.

Farmed and wild Atlantic salmon also have their own side-by-side page.

PreparationWeightCalories kcalProtein gCarbs gFat gFiber gSugar gSodium mgCaffeine mg
Farmed Atlantic salmon, cooked100 g20622.1012.300610
Farmed Atlantic salmon, raw100 g20820.4013.400590
Sockeye salmon, cooked100 g15626.505.600920
Wild Atlantic salmon, cooked100 g18225.408.10Not reported56Not reported

USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, dry heat. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, sockeye, cooked, dry heat. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, wild, cooked, dry heat. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Put the fillet on the scale

Weigh your piece of salmon and enter the grams. The calculator uses cooked farmed Atlantic salmon. For raw, sockeye or wild, use the comparison above.

Ordered salmon at a restaurant? Describe the plate to TrueCal and review what it estimates.

85 g has about 175 calories.

USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, dry heat. Source checked September 29, 2026.

How many calories does salmon have per gram?

Cooked farmed Atlantic salmon has 206 calories per 100 g. Multiply the grams you ate by 206 and divide by 100, or enter the grams in the calculator above.

USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, dry heat. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Is wild salmon lower in calories than farmed?

In USDA's records it is. Cooked wild Atlantic salmon has 182 calories per 100 g and sockeye has 156, against 206 for farmed Atlantic.

USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, dry heat. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, sockeye, cooked, dry heat. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, wild, cooked, dry heat. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Log the portion you ate

Add food from a photo or a sentence, then check the portion before saving.

USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, dry heat. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farmed, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, sockeye, cooked, dry heat. USDA FoodData Central. Fish, salmon, Atlantic, wild, cooked, dry heat. Source checked September 29, 2026.