Voice calorie tracker, six apps that log a meal you say or type
Speaking a meal is an option in all six apps, but the plans differ. The MyFitnessPal voice logging help article puts Voice Log on Premium. The Lose It membership pricing article includes voice in Lose It! Premium, and the Cronometer voice and Siri article places Voice Log on Gold. The MacroFactor Describe help article describes voice input through Describe, while the MacroFactor App Store listing states there is no free tier and the MacroFactor product page includes every feature with a subscription. The TrueCal pricing page puts voice logging on Pro. The MyNetDiary iPhone page offers free Voice Logging for individual foods and Premium Plus AI Voice Logging for a whole meal.
Typing a meal description is also listed in the Cronometer voice logging help article for the same Voice Log feature, the MacroFactor Describe help article for Describe, and the TrueCal AI information page for Pro. The MyNetDiary FAQ lists AI Food Log by Description for Android only, but names Premium Plus in the heading and Premium after three free tries in the answer. A typed-sentence feature is Not stated in the MyFitnessPal and Lose It pages read for this comparison.
The facts below come from each company's own pages read October 16, 2026, with no ranking of the apps.
Spoken and typed meal logging, app by app
| Logging question | MyFitnessPal | Lose It | Cronometer | MacroFactor | MyNetDiary | TrueCal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Voice logging offered | Yes, Voice Log. checked October 16, 2026 | Yes, Say It in the help center and AI Voice in the App Store listing. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 | Yes, Voice Log. checked October 16, 2026 | Yes, Describe through keyboard dictation. checked October 16, 2026 | Yes, Voice Logging and AI Voice Logging. checked October 16, 2026 | Yes, voice logging. checked October 16, 2026 |
| Plan needed for voice | Premium. checked October 16, 2026 | Lose It! Premium. checked October 16, 2026 | Gold. checked October 16, 2026 | Paid subscription, no free tier. Subscribers have all features. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 | Voice Logging for one food at a time is Free or Premium. Whole-meal AI Voice Logging needs Premium Plus. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 | Pro. checked October 16, 2026 |
| Typed plain-words description | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, type within Voice Log. checked October 16, 2026 | Yes, Describe. checked October 16, 2026 | AI Food Log by Description is Android only. Its FAQ heading says Premium Plus, but its answer says Premium after three free tries. The FAQ plan table places AI voice and text logging on Premium Plus. The wording conflicts. checked October 16, 2026 | Yes, Pro. checked October 16, 2026 |
| How the words become foods | Searches the same food database used for typed searches. checked October 16, 2026 | The help center says Say It searches for a food by voice. Database entry or AI estimate for the nutrition numbers is Not stated. checked October 16, 2026 | AI turns speech into text and identifies foods without generating nutrition numbers. Foods are matched to database entries. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 | The Describe help article describes common-foods database search, not branded foods. Whether the May 2026 AI tab uses that same search is Not stated. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 | AI Food Log by Description matches foods to the database. AI Voice Logging recognizes foods and estimates portions. Premium Plus AI features use generative AI. Basic Voice Logging method is Not stated. checked October 16, 2026 | Large language models read descriptions for sourced estimates. Every nutrition number must come from a source or the user. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 |
| Review or fix the entry | Change servings or meal before saving, or start again. Edit or delete saved entries. checked October 16, 2026 | General logging steps select foods and serving before saving. Nutrition can be edited after logging. A Say It specific review step is Not stated. checked October 16, 2026 | Review matched foods before saving. Saved Diary entries can be edited. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 | Review foods and quantities on the plate before logging. Saved foods can be edited from the Food Log. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 | Review both AI features before saving. AI Voice Logging also accepts spoken additions, removals and changes. checked October 16, 2026 | Review the estimate before saving. Logged portions and items can be edited. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 |
| Voice logging from Apple Watch | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, with an editable suggestion to confirm. checked October 16, 2026 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Voice through Siri or another assistant | Not stated | Not stated | Siri Voice Logging, Gold on iOS. checked October 16, 2026 | Not stated | The iPhone page advertises whole meals by Siri Shortcuts. The April 18, 2025 help article says built-in shortcuts were removed and no direct Siri equivalent exists for quick calorie entry. The pages disagree. checked October 16, 2026 checked October 16, 2026 | Not stated |
What each app does with the words you say
MyFitnessPal
According to the MyFitnessPal voice logging help article, Voice Log looks through the same food database as a typed search. Matching the spoken words requires a steady Wi-Fi or cellular connection. Our MyFitnessPal review covers more of the app.
Lose It
The Lose It food logging help article describes Say It as searching for a food by voice. It also describes a public database in the Search tab. Whether the nutrition numbers for voice entries come from database records or an AI estimate is Not stated. Our Lose It review gives more detail about the app.
Cronometer
The Cronometer article about its use of AI assigns AI the work of turning speech into text and identifying the foods. It says AI does not generate nutrition numbers. The Cronometer food logging methods article says spoken foods are matched to database entries. Our Cronometer review covers its other logging options.
MacroFactor
The MacroFactor food logging help article describes natural language search. The MacroFactor Describe help article says Describe searches common foods and is not intended for branded foods. The MacroFactor May 2026 release notes describe an AI tab with a Describe mode for text and photos. The help article does not say whether that mode uses the same common-foods search. Our MacroFactor review has more about the app.
MyNetDiary
The MyNetDiary FAQ says AI Food Log by Description matches the description to its food database. AI Voice Logging identifies foods and estimates portions, and Premium Plus AI features use generative AI, or large language models. The method behind basic Voice Logging is Not stated. Our MyNetDiary review covers the app beyond voice entry.
Checking a spoken meal before it saves
The MyFitnessPal voice logging help article describes individual food edits before saving, including serving size, number of servings and meal. It also allows starting over, then editing or deleting entries after saving. In the Lose It food logging help article, the general steps after finding a food are selecting foods and a serving before saving. Logged nutrition can be edited, but a separate Say It review procedure is Not stated.
The Cronometer voice logging help article returns matched foods for review before adding them to the Diary. The Cronometer Diary editing help article describes editing saved entries. The Cronometer voice and Siri article cautions that quantities may need correction on the first attempt. The MacroFactor Describe help article puts selected foods and quantities on the plate for review, and the MacroFactor food editing help article allows later changes from the Food Log. The MacroFactor food logging help article cautions that natural language searches can return imperfect matches.
The MyNetDiary FAQ describes review before saving for both AI features. AI Voice Logging also accepts spoken changes to foods. That FAQ warns that the app can occasionally misread a food or portion. The TrueCal features page describes reviewing an estimate before saving, and the TrueCal AI information page says logged portions and items can be edited.
The plan each app puts voice on, and its listed price
- MyFitnessPal lists Voice Log for Premium in its voice logging help article. Its Premium page lists $79.99 a year or $19.99 a month. Its plan table says prices vary with country and plan length.
- The Lose It membership pricing article puts voice on Lose It! Premium and lists $79.99 a year. Monthly price is Not stated. The Lose It Premium help article says pricing changes with seasonal promotions and how often a person uses the app.
- The Cronometer Gold page includes Voice Log with Gold and lists $10.99 a month, or $4.99 a month billed annually at $59.99.
- The MacroFactor App Store listing lists $11.99 a month, $47.99 a half year or $71.99 a year for US customers and says there is no free tier. The MacroFactor product page says subscribers have access to all features.
- The MyNetDiary FAQ places whole-meal AI Voice Logging on Premium Plus and excludes generative AI features from Lifetime Premium. The MyNetDiary free calorie tracker page lists Premium Plus at $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year.
- The TrueCal pricing page includes voice logging with Pro and lists $29.99 a year or $9.99 a month.
Our app comparisons cover other differences between calorie trackers.
Voice logging on a watch or through Siri
The MacroFactor Apple Watch announcement describes speaking a food on Apple Watch and receiving a suggestion that can be edited before confirmation. The Cronometer Siri help article offers Siri Voice Logging to Gold users on iOS. The Cronometer voice and Siri article specifies app version 4.53.1 or newer and says Siri entries are added to the Diary for review.
The MyNetDiary iPhone page advertises Siri Shortcuts for recording whole meals by voice. The MyNetDiary Siri help article, dated April 18, 2025, says the built-in shortcuts were removed and there is no direct Siri equivalent for quick calorie entry. That article describes a shortcut a person builds to log a saved meal, but not a recipe. These pages disagree. The MyNetDiary Android page separately lists food logging by voice on Wear OS.
Watch voice logging and Siri logging are Not stated in the MyFitnessPal, Lose It and TrueCal pages read on October 16, 2026. Siri logging is also Not stated in the MacroFactor pages.
Limits the companies list for voice entry
- The MyFitnessPal voice logging help article limits voice to English on iOS and Android, with app version 24.35.0 or later. It excludes the website and saved My Foods, My Recipes, My Meals, Quick Add, weight, exercise and water.
- The Lose It food logging help article says Say It is available in English only.
- The Cronometer voice and Siri article lists voice on iOS and Android and Siri on iOS only. It says new foods may use common serving sizes by default.
- The MacroFactor Describe help article uses keyboard dictation for phone voice input and says Describe can struggle with compound descriptions of foods.
- The MyNetDiary FAQ gives AI features a shared monthly allowance. Basic Voice Logging cannot log to several meals at once or add, remove or change foods by voice.
- The TrueCal AI information page says processing meals requires an internet connection. The TrueCal pricing page says features can vary by device and language.
Saying or typing a meal in TrueCal
The TrueCal AI information page lists free manual calorie logging, with typed descriptions, voice, photos, barcodes and macros on Pro. The TrueCal App Store listing describes saying the meal aloud or recording a voice memo. The TrueCal description for language models says large language models interpret the description, while the TrueCal AI information page requires every nutrition number to come from a source or the user.
The TrueCal features page describes reviewing an estimate before saving, and the TrueCal AI information page allows editing logged items and portions. Apple Watch voice logging and Siri logging are Not stated. Our explanation of how TrueCal works follows a description into a food log.
Questions about logging food by voice
Is MyFitnessPal Voice Log free?
No. The MyFitnessPal voice logging help article lists Voice Log as a Premium feature.
Can Cronometer record food through Siri?
Yes. The Cronometer Siri help article offers Siri Voice Logging for Gold users on iOS.
Which of these six apps offers voice logging on a free account?
MyNetDiary does. The MyNetDiary iPhone page describes free Voice Logging for one food at a time and Premium Plus AI Voice Logging for a whole meal.
Does MacroFactor Describe search branded foods?
The MacroFactor Describe help article says it searches common foods and is not intended for branded foods. Whether the May 2026 AI tab Describe mode uses that same search is Not stated.
Company pages read on October 16, 2026
- MyFitnessPal voice logging help article, checked October 16, 2026
- MyFitnessPal Premium page, checked October 16, 2026
- MyFitnessPal plan table, checked October 16, 2026
- Lose It food logging help article, checked October 16, 2026
- Lose It membership pricing article, checked October 16, 2026
- Lose It Premium help article, checked October 16, 2026
- Lose It App Store listing, checked October 16, 2026
- Cronometer voice logging help article, checked October 16, 2026
- Cronometer voice and Siri article, checked October 16, 2026
- Cronometer article about its use of AI, checked October 16, 2026
- Cronometer food logging methods article, checked October 16, 2026
- Cronometer Diary editing help article, checked October 16, 2026
- Cronometer Siri help article, checked October 16, 2026
- Cronometer Gold page, checked October 16, 2026
- MacroFactor Describe help article, checked October 16, 2026
- MacroFactor food logging help article, checked October 16, 2026
- MacroFactor App Store listing, checked October 16, 2026
- MacroFactor product page, checked October 16, 2026
- MacroFactor May 2026 release notes, checked October 16, 2026
- MacroFactor food editing help article, checked October 16, 2026
- MacroFactor Apple Watch announcement, checked October 16, 2026
- MyNetDiary FAQ, checked October 16, 2026
- MyNetDiary iPhone page, checked October 16, 2026
- MyNetDiary Siri help article, checked October 16, 2026
- MyNetDiary Android page, checked October 16, 2026
- MyNetDiary free calorie tracker page, checked October 16, 2026
- TrueCal AI information page, checked October 16, 2026
- TrueCal features page, checked October 16, 2026
- TrueCal pricing page, checked October 16, 2026
- TrueCal description for language models, checked October 16, 2026
- TrueCal App Store listing, checked October 16, 2026