Nutrition facts, USDA data

Calories in a carrot, by size

By Eric Parker, founder of TrueCal. Updated September 29, 2026.

A medium raw carrot is 25 calories

A medium raw carrot has 25 calories. A small one has 21, and a large one has 30.

USDA's medium carrot weighs 61 g. Its small carrot is about 5 and a half inches long and its large one runs 7 and a quarter to 8 and a half inches, so a ruler helps you match yours to a size.

USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, raw. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Whole, chopped, boiled or baby

A cup of chopped raw carrots is 128 g and 52 calories. The boiled rows are carrots cooked in water without salt, and the frozen row is frozen carrots boiled the same way.

PortionWeightCalories kcalProtein gCarbs gFat gFiber gSugar gSodium mgCaffeine mgPortion source
1 medium raw carrot61 g250.65.80.11.72.942.10USDA portion, 1 medium
1 small raw carrot50 g210.54.80.11.42.434.50USDA portion, 1 small, 5 1/2 inches long
1 large raw carrot72 g300.76.90.223.449.70USDA portion, 1 large, 7 1/4 to 8 1/2 inches long
1 cup of chopped raw carrots128 g521.212.30.33.66.188.30USDA portion, 1 cup chopped
1 boiled carrot46 g160.33.80.11.41.626.70USDA portion, 1 carrot
Half a cup of boiled carrot slices78 g270.66.40.12.32.745.20USDA portion, half a cup of slices
1 medium baby carrot10 g40.10.800.30.57.8Not reportedUSDA portion, 1 medium
1 large baby carrot15 g50.11.200.40.711.7Not reportedUSDA portion, 1 large
1 cup of sliced frozen carrots, boiled146 g540.811.314.8686.10USDA portion, 1 cup, sliced

USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, baby, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Sugar and protein in a medium carrot

A medium raw carrot has 2.9 g of sugar and 0.6 g of protein, with 0.1 g of fat.

Serving carrots next to other vegetables? Sweet potato, baked potato, broccoli and corn have their own numbers, and the full list of foods is in the calorie references.

Nutrient1 medium raw carrotPer 100 g
Calories 25 kcal 41 kcal
Protein 0.6 g 0.9 g
Carbs 5.8 g 9.6 g
Fat 0.1 g 0.2 g
Fiber 1.7 g 2.8 g
Sugar 2.9 g 4.7 g
Sodium 42.1 mg 69 mg

USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, raw. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Raw, boiled, baby or frozen carrots

Boiled carrots have 35 calories per 100 g and raw carrots have 41. USDA's boiled carrot weighs 46 g and has 16 calories, and half a cup of boiled slices has 27.

Raw baby carrots also come to 35 calories per 100 g. Frozen carrots, boiled, have 37, and a cup of the slices is 146 g and 54 calories.

PreparationWeightCalories kcalProtein gCarbs gFat gFiber gSugar gSodium mgCaffeine mg
Raw carrots100 g410.99.60.22.84.7690
Boiled carrots without salt100 g350.88.20.233.5580
Raw baby carrots100 g350.68.20.12.94.878Not reported
Frozen carrots, boiled without salt100 g370.67.70.73.34.1590

USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, baby, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Weigh a handful of carrot sticks

Put the carrots on a scale and enter the grams below. The calculator uses raw carrots.

Dipping them in hummus or ranch? Tell TrueCal the dip and roughly how much you had, and check what it estimates.

61 g has about 25 calories.

USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, raw. Source checked September 29, 2026.

How many calories are in a single baby carrot?

A medium raw baby carrot is 10 g and 4 calories, and a large one is 15 g and 5 calories.

USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, baby, raw. Source checked September 29, 2026.

How many carbs are in one carrot?

A medium raw carrot has 5.8 g of carbs, and 1.7 g of that is fiber.

USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, raw. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Log the portion you ate

Add food from a photo or a sentence, then check the portion before saving.

USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, baby, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Carrots, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. Source checked September 29, 2026.