Comparison

Which intermittent fasting apps time a fast and log your food?

By Eric Parker, founder of TrueCal. Updated October 18, 2026.

Among fasting apps, Zero, Fastic and Simple keep a fasting timer on their free versions, according to Zero's App Store listing, Fastic's free version article and Simple's plan descriptions. Easy Fast's home page keeps 16:8, 18:6 and its open-ended Flexi Plan free, with OMAD, 20:4 and longer programs on Pro. Among food trackers, the MyFitnessPal fasting article requires Premium, the Lose It fasting FAQ requires Premium and Cronometer's fasting help requires Gold. Yazio's tutorial keeps 16:8 free and reserves its other trackers for Pro. Lifesum's program list puts fasting meal plans and programs on Premium, with no fasting timer described.

For meals, Zero's Plus features article puts photos and typed descriptions on Zero Plus, while its App Store listing includes a few initial free meal logs. Simple's food logging help describes typed meals, and its subscription article includes meal logging and one daily photo on free accounts, with unlimited photos on Premium. Fastic's help center places the photo meal tracker on Fastic Plus, while its Google Play listing describes food and calorie tracking with a photo scanner outside the Plus list, as does its App Store listing. Food logging is Not stated on Easy Fast's home page.

Search-based food logs are free, with photo logging paid, in MyFitnessPal's plan table, Lose It's membership article, Cronometer's Gold comparison and Lifesum's tracking methods article. Yazio's diary tutorial describes food search and its home page names a barcode scanner, with the plan for either Not stated. Its photo logging article puts photos on Yazio Pro. A fasting timer is Not stated in TrueCal's feature descriptions.

These entries use company websites, help centers and US App Store and Google Play listings read October 18, 2026. Each cell reports those published details, with Not stated wherever the pages leave a gap. The apps are presented without a ranking.

Fasting timer, food log and price for each app

Each cell links the company page it came from, read October 18, 2026
AppFasting timer and schedules namedPlan the timer needsFood logging and its planCalorie and macro goals on the free versionListed US price of the paid planPlatforms
Zero A timer with 16:8, 18:6, 20:4, OMAD, a 13-hour fast and custom fasts up to 7 days. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 The timer is free. Saved custom presets need Zero Plus. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Zero Plus logs meals from photos and typed descriptions. The free version includes a few initial meal logs. Barcode logging plan is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 Zero Plus is $89.99 a year or $9.99 a month in the pricing article. That article says the App Store also lists past promotional prices. checked October 18, 2026 iPhone, Apple Watch and Android. No web app is described, the desktop page directs visitors to the phone app. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026
Fastic A timer with a fast plan you can edit. Schedule names as presets are Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 The timer stays free. Some fast plan settings require Fastic Plus. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Food and calorie logging includes a photo scanner. The help center puts the photo tracker on Fastic Plus, while the store listings place food tracking outside their Plus lists. Barcode scanning is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 The website gives no Fastic Plus price. The App Store lists 1 month at $14.99 and 3 months at $27.99. Other Fastic Plus items range from $12.99 to $79.99 without a length shown. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 iPhone and Android. The App Store lists no Apple Watch app. Web access is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026
Simple A tracker times fasting and eating intervals you select. Schedule names are Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Fast logging is free. Premium adds personalized fasting plans. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Typed meals are free, with photo logging once a day free and unlimited photos on Premium. Barcode scanning is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 A free calorie goal is Not stated. The free version excludes the meal macro breakdown. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 The website gives no price. The App Store lists Simple Pro from $14.99 to $49.99 and Simple Premium at $29.99 and $59.99, without plan lengths. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 iPhone, Apple Watch and Android 12 or later. Desktop access is unavailable. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026
Easy Fast The timer names 16:8, 18:6, Flexi Plan, OMAD and 20:4. It also has week-by-week programs and extended fasts. checked October 18, 2026 16:8, 18:6 and the open-ended Flexi Plan are free. Easy Fast Pro adds OMAD, 20:4, programs, extended fasts and custom plans. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Food logging is Not stated. Water and weight tracking are free. checked October 18, 2026 Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 The website gives no price. The App Store lists Easy Fast Pro at $49.99 and $9.99 without plan lengths. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 iPhone, iPad and Android. Apple Watch and Wear OS need Pro. Web access is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026
MyFitnessPal The fasting tracker lists 12:12, 14:10 and 16:8. checked October 18, 2026 Premium, with the feature also included in Premium Plus. The timer runs on iPhone and Android, but not iPad or the website. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Food search is free. Premium includes barcode scanning, photo logging through Meal Scan and voice logging. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Free accounts can set calorie goals and macro goals by percentage. Setting macros in grams needs Premium. checked October 18, 2026 The Premium page lists $79.99 a year or $19.99 a month. A company post dated April 9, 2025 lists Premium Plus at $99.99 a year or $24.99 a month. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android, Wear OS and the website. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026
Lose It Start and stop the timer by hand or schedule fasts. Select a length up to 22 hours, days and a start time. Schedule names are Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Premium is required. Fasting is available only in the app. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Database logging is free in the app and on loseit.com, while photo and voice logging need Premium. The barcode article says scanning is moving to Premium, with some free accounts retaining it. The About article lists barcode scanning as free. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 A daily calorie budget is free. Macro goals need Premium. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Premium is $79.99 a year and Lifetime is $299.99. A monthly price is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Android, with food logging on loseit.com. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026
Cronometer Start, stop, edit or schedule a fast. Enter hours or days, leave it open-ended or repeat it. Schedule names are Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Gold is required. Fasting is also available on the web. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Food logging and barcode scanning are free. Photo and voice logs need Gold. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Macro targets are free. A calorie target exists, but its plan is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Gold costs $59.99 a year or $10.99 a month. checked October 18, 2026 Web, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android and Wear OS. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026
Yazio There are 20 fasting trackers. Named options include early and late 16:8, 14:10, 12:12, 17:7, 5:2, 6:1 and 1:1. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 16:8 is free. Every other fasting tracker needs Yazio Pro. checked October 18, 2026 The plan for food search, barcode scanning and quick calorie entry is Not stated. Photos need Yazio Pro. Voice logging is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 The calorie goal and macro percentages can be changed. Their plan is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 Yazio Pro runs for 3 or 12 months, paid up front without monthly payments, and the website gives no price. App Store items include 12 months at $23.90 and $47.90 and 3 months at $23.99. The price a new US buyer sees is Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Android. No web, Windows or Mac version. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026
Lifesum An Android help article mentions a fasting timer setting without describing it. Named meal plans are morning and evening 16:8, with 5:2 and 6:1 programs. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Timer plan is Not stated. Fasting meal plans and programs need Premium. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Search, barcode scanning and quick tracking are free. AI logging by photo, voice or text needs Premium. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 The suggested calorie goal is free, but changing it requires Premium. Editing the macro split also needs Premium. No plan allows macro goals in grams. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Premium on lifesum.com is $14.99 a month, $29.99 for 3 months or $99.99 a year. checked October 18, 2026 iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android and Wear OS. The website does not support food tracking. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026
TrueCal Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 Not stated. checked October 18, 2026 Manual calorie logging is free. Pro logs typed descriptions, voice, photos and barcodes. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026 Not stated for free calorie or macro goals. Custom goals and macros require Pro. checked October 18, 2026 Pro is $29.99 a year or $9.99 a month. checked October 18, 2026 iPhone, Android and the web. The App Store also lists Apple Watch. checked October 18, 2026 checked October 18, 2026

Apps that started as fasting timers

Zero

Zero's free version article includes starting, ending and editing fasts, some preset goals and one rolling week of data. Zero Plus adds an advanced timer and longer statistical histories. The Plus features article also says both versions can record a daily calorie intake number on a trends graph, separate from meal logging.

The Apple Watch help article describes starting a fast from the watch and seeing it on the iPhone too.

Fastic

Fastic's interval settings article describes editing the interval, start and end times, target days and reminders. Its Google Play listing also describes photographing a restaurant menu with a scanner. The App Store listing names Fastic Plus memberships of 1, 3 or 12 months.

Simple

In Simple's fast logging article, every fast begins and ends with a logged meal, and a fast shorter than 12 hours cannot be marked complete. The schedule article describes separate start times for each weekday on iOS and days marked for no fast.

The food logging article says the tracker does not interpret calorie or macro numbers entered as food. Its Apple Watch article describes logging food, water and fasts from the watch.

Easy Fast

Easy Fast's home page says the free version has no ads and needs no account. Pro adds schedules and programs, Apple Watch and Wear OS support, widgets, Live Activities, cloud sync and backup. The subscription terms describe automatic renewal through the app store.

Calorie trackers with a fasting tool

MyFitnessPal

The MyFitnessPal fasting article says the tracker only times the fasting window and does not change calorie or macro goals. Its Premium page also places fasting on the paid plan, and the plan comparison article says prices vary by country and plan length. The MyFitnessPal Premium price breakdown gives more detail on the listed subscriptions.

Lose It

The Lose It how it works page calls the app a fasting tool. Its fasting FAQ limits each fast to 22 hours and uses the same start and end hours on every selected day. The About Lose It article includes fasting in Premium. The Lose It review of Basic and Premium covers the rest of those plans.

Cronometer

The Cronometer subscription article and App Store listing both place fasting in Gold. The web fasting article describes access through the web version too. Its Apple Watch article describes fasting reminders sent to the watch.

Yazio

The Yazio fasting tracker article describes selecting a method, adjusting times and starting, changing or canceling the tracker, with meals inside the fasting window marked. The reminders article lists notifications for the start and end of a fast, and its fact sheet includes fasting trackers among the app's features. The Yazio and MyFitnessPal plan comparison covers their food logging and subscription differences.

Lifesum

A timer appears in Lifesum's October 24, 2023 employer program announcement for Lifesum for Work. Its current morning 16:8 article and evening 16:8 article describe 21-day meal plans with a shopping list. The 5:2 and 6:1 settings article says users pick their own fasting days, while the Apple Watch article lists no fasting timer.

Named schedules or hours you set

Some apps name ratios such as 16:8, and others let the user set the hours. Fastic's interval article describes a fast plan you can edit, and Simple's schedule article lets users set fasting and eating intervals, with preset names Not stated for either.

Phones, watches and the web

Some apps log food on the web but keep the fasting timer on phones. The MyFitnessPal fasting article limits its timer to iPhone and Android. The Lose It setup article puts fasting in the app only, although its food logging article supports logs on loseit.com. Cronometer's web fasting article describes a browser timer.

More than one App Store price for the same plan

The US App Store lists more than one price under the same plan name in the Zero listing, Fastic listing, Simple listing, Easy Fast listing and Yazio listing. Of these, only Zero's pricing article explains that the list includes every price previously offered, including past promotions. Yazio's fact sheet names 3 and 12 months, but its website gives no price. Lifesum's upgrade page lists prices for monthly, 3-month and annual plans.

TrueCal's food log and plans

A fasting timer is Not stated in TrueCal's features. Its pricing page keeps manual calorie logging free, while the product information page puts typed meal descriptions, voice, photos and barcodes on Pro. The FAQ also puts macros on Pro.

The TrueCal pricing page lists Pro at $29.99 a year or $9.99 a month. The product information page names iPhone, Android and web access. More app pages are collected in TrueCal's app comparisons.

Asked about fasting timers and food logs

Which apps time a fast without a paid plan?

Zero, Fastic and Simple include a free fasting timer. Easy Fast includes 16:8, 18:6 and its open-ended Flexi Plan free, and Yazio includes its 16:8 tracker free.

Does MyFitnessPal's fasting tracker change calorie goals?

No. Its help article says the tracker only times the fasting window and leaves calorie and macro goals unchanged. It needs Premium or Premium Plus and runs on iPhone and Android, not iPad or the website.

Which fasting apps also log food?

Zero Plus logs meals from photos or typed descriptions, and Simple includes typed meals and one daily photo free, with unlimited photos on Premium. Fastic describes food logging and places its photo tracker on Fastic Plus in the help center. Easy Fast food logging is Not stated.

Which food trackers put fasting on a paid plan?

MyFitnessPal requires Premium or Premium Plus, Lose It requires Premium and Cronometer requires Gold. Yazio keeps 16:8 free and puts its other trackers on Pro. Lifesum's fasting meal plans and programs require Premium, and the plan for its fasting timer is Not stated.

Company pages behind each cell