Nutrition facts, USDA data

Cashew calories by the ounce, tablespoon and cup

By Eric Parker, founder of TrueCal. Updated September 29, 2026.

Dry roasted cashews have 163 calories an ounce

An ounce of dry roasted cashews has 163 calories. A tablespoon has 49.

Oil roasted cashews come to 164 calories an ounce, and raw cashews have 157.

USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, dry roasted, without salt added. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, oil roasted, without salt added. Source checked September 29, 2026.

From a tablespoon to a cup

A cup of dry roasted cashews, halves and whole, is 137 g and 786 calories. The tablespoon row is handy for a few cashews scattered over a stir-fry or a salad.

PortionWeightCalories kcalProtein gCarbs gFat gFiber gSugar gSodium mgCaffeine mgPortion source
1 oz dry roasted cashews28.35 g1634.39.313.10.91.44.50USDA portion, 1 oz
1 tbsp dry roasted cashews8.6 g491.32.840.30.41.40USDA portion, 1 tbsp
1 cup dry roasted cashews137 g7862144.863.54.16.921.90USDA portion, 1 cup of whole and halved cashews
1 oz raw cashews28.35 g1575.28.612.40.91.73.4Not reportedUSDA portion, 1 oz
1 oz oil roasted cashews28.35 g1644.88.513.50.91.43.70USDA portion, 1 oz, 18 kernels

USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, dry roasted, without salt added. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, oil roasted, without salt added. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Fat and carbs in an ounce of cashews

An ounce of dry roasted cashews has 13.1 g of fat and 9.3 g of carbs, with 1.4 g of sugar.

Comparing nuts? Almonds and pistachios have their own pages, peanut butter does too, and the calorie references have the rest.

Nutrient1 oz dry roasted cashewsPer 100 g
Calories 163 kcal 574 kcal
Protein 4.3 g 15.3 g
Carbs 9.3 g 32.7 g
Fat 13.1 g 46.4 g
Fiber 0.9 g 3 g
Sugar 1.4 g 5 g
Sodium 4.5 mg 16 mg

USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, dry roasted, without salt added. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Roasted or raw cashews

USDA lists 553 calories per 100 g for raw cashews, 574 for dry roasted and 580 for oil roasted. Both roasted records have no added salt.

Raw cashews have the most protein of the three, 18.2 g per 100 g against 15.3 g for dry roasted.

PreparationWeightCalories kcalProtein gCarbs gFat gFiber gSugar gSodium mgCaffeine mg
Dry roasted cashews without added salt100 g57415.332.746.435160
Raw cashews100 g55318.230.243.93.35.912Not reported
Oil roasted cashews without added salt100 g58016.829.947.83.35130

USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, dry roasted, without salt added. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, oil roasted, without salt added. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Weigh cashews from the jar

Pour your cashews onto a scale and enter the grams below. The calculator uses dry roasted cashews.

Cashews in a trail mix or a stir-fry? Describe what else was in it to TrueCal and review the estimate.

28.35 g has about 163 calories.

USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, dry roasted, without salt added. Source checked September 29, 2026.

How many cashews are in an ounce?

USDA counts 18 oil roasted cashews in an ounce, 28.35 g and 164 calories. Its dry roasted and raw ounces don't give a count.

USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, oil roasted, without salt added. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, dry roasted, without salt added. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, raw. Source checked September 29, 2026.

How much protein is in an ounce of cashews?

An ounce of dry roasted cashews has 4.3 g of protein, and a cup has 21 g.

USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, dry roasted, without salt added. Source checked September 29, 2026.

Log the portion you ate

Add food from a photo or a sentence, then check the portion before saving.

USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, dry roasted, without salt added. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, raw. USDA FoodData Central. Nuts, cashew nuts, oil roasted, without salt added. Source checked September 29, 2026.