Extra-firm or soft tofu, calories and protein
Extra-firm has 83 calories per 100 g, soft has 61
Extra-firm tofu has 83 calories per 100 g and soft tofu has 61. A fifth of a block of extra-firm is 91 g and 76 calories, and a fifth of a block of soft is 90 g and 55 calories.
Extra-firm also has more protein, 10 g per 100 g against 7.2 g for soft.
USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, extra firm, prepared with nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. Source checked September 29, 2026.
Blocks, cups and slices
USDA's whole block of extra-firm works out to 455 g and 378 calories, from its fifth of a block. A quarter of a block of soft is 116 g and 71 calories.
Half a cup of firm tofu is 126 g and 98 calories. A slice of Mori-Nu silken soft tofu is 84 g and 46 calories.
| Portion | Weight | Calories kcal | Protein g | Carbs g | Fat g | Fiber g | Sugar g | Sodium mg | Caffeine mg | Portion source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A fifth of a block, extra-firm | 91 g | 76 | 9.1 | 1.1 | 4.8 | 0.9 | 0.6 | 3.6 | 0 | USDA portion, a fifth of a block |
| A whole block, extra-firm | 455 g | 378 | 45.4 | 5.4 | 23.9 | 4.5 | 3.2 | 18.2 | 0 | 1 block, computed from USDA's fifth of a block |
| A fifth of a block, soft | 90 g | 55 | 6.5 | 1.1 | 3.3 | 0.2 | 0.6 | 7.2 | 0 | USDA portion, a fifth of a block |
| A quarter of a block, soft | 116 g | 71 | 8.3 | 1.4 | 4.3 | 0.2 | 0.8 | 9.3 | 0 | USDA portion, a quarter of a block |
| Half a cup, firm | 126 g | 98 | 11.4 | 3.6 | 5.3 | 1.1 | 0.8 | 15.1 | 0 | USDA portion, half a cup |
| 1 slice Mori-Nu silken soft | 84 g | 46 | 4 | 2.4 | 2.3 | 0.1 | 1.1 | 4.2 | Not reported | USDA portion, 1 slice |
USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, extra firm, prepared with nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, firm, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Mori-Nu, Tofu, silken, soft. Source checked September 29, 2026.
Protein and fat in extra-firm tofu
A fifth of a block of extra-firm has 9.1 g of protein, 4.8 g of fat and 1.1 g of carbs. A whole block has 45.4 g of protein.
Using tofu in place of meat? There's a general tofu page, plus edamame and chicken breast, and the full list of calorie references.
| Nutrient | A fifth of a block, extra-firm | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 76 kcal | 83 kcal |
| Protein | 9.1 g | 10 g |
| Carbs | 1.1 g | 1.2 g |
| Fat | 4.8 g | 5.3 g |
| Fiber | 0.9 g | 1 g |
| Sugar | 0.6 g | 0.7 g |
| Sodium | 3.6 mg | 4 mg |
USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, extra firm, prepared with nigari. Source checked September 29, 2026.
Soft, firm, extra-firm and silken at 100 g
Per 100 g, extra-firm tofu has 83 calories, firm has 78, soft has 61 and Mori-Nu silken soft has 55.
USDA's firm and soft records were made the same way, with calcium sulfate and nigari. The extra-firm record lists nigari alone. The silken record is a single brand, so its numbers are for that brand.
| Preparation | Weight | Calories kcal | Protein g | Carbs g | Fat g | Fiber g | Sugar g | Sodium mg | Caffeine mg |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Extra-firm tofu made with nigari | 100 g | 83 | 10 | 1.2 | 5.3 | 1 | 0.7 | 4 | 0 |
| Soft tofu made with calcium sulfate and nigari | 100 g | 61 | 7.2 | 1.2 | 3.7 | 0.2 | 0.7 | 8 | 0 |
| Firm tofu made with calcium sulfate and nigari | 100 g | 78 | 9 | 2.9 | 4.2 | 0.9 | 0.6 | 12 | 0 |
| Mori-Nu silken soft tofu | 100 g | 55 | 4.8 | 2.9 | 2.7 | 0.1 | 1.3 | 5 | Not reported |
USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, extra firm, prepared with nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, firm, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Mori-Nu, Tofu, silken, soft. Source checked September 29, 2026.
Weigh the piece you cook
Blocks come in different sizes, so weigh the tofu you're cooking and enter the grams. The calculator uses extra-firm tofu. For soft tofu use 61 calories per 100 g.
Fried it or cooked it in a sauce? Tell TrueCal how you made it and check the estimate.
91 g has about 75.5 calories.
USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, extra firm, prepared with nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. Source checked September 29, 2026.
Which kind of tofu has the most protein?
Of these four, extra-firm has the most at 10 g per 100 g. Firm has 9 g, soft has 7.2 g and Mori-Nu silken soft has 4.8 g.
USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, extra firm, prepared with nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, firm, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Mori-Nu, Tofu, silken, soft. Source checked September 29, 2026.
Is silken tofu the same as soft tofu?
Not in USDA's data. Its soft tofu record and its Mori-Nu silken soft record are separate, at 61 and 55 calories per 100 g.
USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Mori-Nu, Tofu, silken, soft. Source checked September 29, 2026.
Log the portion you ate
Add food from a photo or a sentence, then check the portion before saving.
USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, extra firm, prepared with nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, soft, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Tofu, firm, prepared with calcium sulfate and magnesium chloride, nigari. USDA FoodData Central. Mori-Nu, Tofu, silken, soft. Source checked September 29, 2026.